Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
savijmuhdrox

Curse you, Pusbubble!

Recommended Posts

So here's a question regarding Nurgle's Rotters.. its a basic timing question really but came up during a match where the Rotters were just decimating..

The orcs successfully tackled Pusbubble. They had a team upgrade that allowed them to roll a die to try for an injury; whereas Pusbubble has two regeneration icons.

Does the active player (orcs) decide who goes first? Basically, can they roll for injury first and pre-empt the regeneration icons?

Thanks for any input.. and dear lord those disease tokens are ridiculous..

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Can you post the text of the cards for clarity? Tend to check internet during working day so don't have them in front of me.

 

Would have though though, if the text says roll to see after a successful tackle and injure 'em on a whatever, then it gets to be used no matter the order or whether regeneration is successful,

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

In that context, I believe you should roll the dice for the injury when the tackle is made, because it is part of the tackle action. That's how I've played it in the past when I had a Dark Elf Blitzer tackled by the Orcs. We rolled for injury before initiating the downed Passing skill.

 

I of course may be wrong. Also, I didn't have the cards on me either, so I googled Pusbubble and now have seen things I can't unsee :(

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

In that context, I believe you should roll the dice for the injury when the tackle is made, because it is part of the tackle action. That's how I've played it in the past when I had a Dark Elf Blitzer tackled by the Orcs. We rolled for injury before initiating the downed Passing skill.

 

I of course may be wrong. Also, I didn't have the cards on me either, so I googled Pusbubble and now have seen things I can't unsee :(

 I am not sure on this one. But here is my interpretation :

 

SUDDEN DEATH PDF ON DOWNED SKILLS
Each time a player with downed skills is downed, the downed player’s 
manager resolves these skills immediately, interrupting the 
active manager’s turn.
 
SMASH EM BASH EM ORC TEAM CARD
Response : After successfully tackling a standing player, exhaust this card and roll1 die. On a * player is injured.
 
BLOOD BOWL TEAM MANGER RULES PDF
Response abilities are resolved during the Matchup phase when the conditions are fulfilled. 
 
Above is the relevant sections of the rules. I guess it all comes down to whether the player ever becomes downed or in other words is :
 
A successful tackle EQUAL TO a downed player (assuming a standing player).
Or does a successful tackle RESULT in a downed player.
 
If it is the former then I would say downed skills go before the response card (citing the IMMEDIATELY interrupts the players turn part of the rules). If it is the later however then I believe the opposite is true as the player has not become downed and therefor the response can take effect.
 
I think the text for FEND might be useful here. FEND allows you to stand a downed player if this players is ever successfully tackled. The card does not say successfully downed.
 
I believe the distinction is there, as the later could never apply as DOWNED Players lose all printed abilities. Hence successful tackle is a distinct and separate step that occurs BEFORE a player becomes DOWNED and thus is able to be interrupted by applicable response abilities.
 
Thats my tentative interpretation :)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...