Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
chickenlips

movement rules unclear..need clarification.

Recommended Posts

On page 19 and 20, the movement rules and movement points are explained. Movement states that performing a move provides movement points to the unit for that activation and that they are to be added to the remaining movement points the figure possess. Does this mean that a unit can take 2 move action as one full movement pool? Had this come up as the imp player had a unit with 5 movement. His 5 move put him in a space that he couldn't end his turn in. He stated it was one move pool for the two actions, we disagreed. How is this played? Can you interrupt a move action with another move action to add the points together?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Since you can interrupt your movement to take another action, it seem to me that it would essentially work as a pool of points.

 

For example, you have a move of five. You take a move action, and move four squares, stopping adjacent to a square that requires two movement points to enter. you only have one left, so you can't enter it. You then take your second action as a move action, gaining five more movement points. Is there anything that says you can't combine the one remaining point of movement with the five from the second move action? I can't see why you couldn't. Any other opinions?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I agree that you add them to the pool. When I need to book it, I take both movement actions and then spend all my movement points at once. You could also interupt the first movement as stated above. It's just like moving 2 spaces, attacking, and then moving 2 more spaces after attacking. Spending movement points is not an action.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Performing a move does not move the figure; it only provides movement points that may be spent during that figure’s

activation. This means that a figure may use its first action to perform a move, followed by an attack, and then spend the
movement points. It may even spend some movement points before the attack and then some of them after the attack
 
​Interpretation:
 
Performing a move does not move the figure 
You basically telling your opponent this is the unit your going to use
 
It only provides movement points that may be spend during that figure's activation
You gain 'x' Speed to move your figure in your turn
 
This means that a figure may use its first action to perform a move
Your figure will use 1 of its 2 action to make the physical movement
 
followed by an attack, and then spend the movement points. It may even spend some movement points before the attack and then some of them after the attack
You are given 'x' movement (lets say 4) you move 2 space and using the 2nd action you attack the opponent no matter of the result you then use the remaining 2 movement points to move 2 more spaces.
 
Conclusion
 
You can use both actions for a turn to allow you to Move & Shoot
You can use both actions to Move twice
You can use both actions to Shoot twice
You can use 1 strain to move 1 additional space this is not an action and can only be used twice per Hero activation
 
 
Edited by VirMortalis

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

 

Performing a move does not move the figure; it only provides movement points that may be spent during that figure’s

activation. This means that a figure may use its first action to perform a move, followed by an attack, and then spend the
movement points. It may even spend some movement points before the attack and then some of them after the attack
 
​Interpretation:
 
Performing a move does not move the figure 
You basically telling your opponent this is the unit your going to use
 
It only provides movement points that may be spend during that figure's activation
You gain 'x' Speed to move your figure in your turn
 
This means that a figure may use its first action to perform a move
Your figure will use 1 of its 2 action to make the physical movement
 
followed by an attack, and then spend the movement points. It may even spend some movement points before the attack and then some of them after the attack
You are given 'x' movement (lets say 4) you move 2 space and using the 2nd action you attack the opponent no matter of the result you then use the remaining 2 movement points to move 2 more spaces.
 
Conclusion
 
You can use both actions for a turn to allow you to Move & Shoot
You can use both actions to Move twice
You can use both actions to Shoot twice
You can use 1 strain to move 1 additional space this is not an action and can only be used twice per Hero activation
 
 

In Skirmish, you can only spend one action to attack.  And in Campaign or missions, only heroes can use both of their actions to attack.

 

 

 
 

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Taking a movement action just adds movement points to your pool, nothing more.

Additionally, spending up to 2 Strain to gain movement points does not count as an action, nor does spending those 2 movement points to actually move.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...