Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
Phillyraidrer215

Skirmish: massive designation

Recommended Posts

That would make maps irrelevant and Break the game to have massive minis run all over the board with no restrictions whatsoever. I am sure there is someone on here with more insight into this...

Edited by Phillyraidrer215

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

That would make maps irrelevant and Break the game to have massive minis run all over the board with no restrictions whatsoever. I am sure there is someone on here with more insight into this...

On the other hand it would strongly disadvantage any/all players choosing to field a AT-ST in skirmishes if Massives weren't allowed inside

Edited by Forensicus

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Just look at the 3 maps and there deployment zones.  If you use the massive rule in skirmish the same way as campaign.  MOS Eisley Outskirts map you have a 50% chance not being able to deploy those points.  The Moisture Farm map you also have a 50% chance to deploy points and the AT ST could never leave deployment zone it could be deployed in.  The Massassi Ruins map is the only one that you can play the AT ST in both zones.  This is why the massive rules for buildings only work in campaign.  This would be an unfair advantage for someone playing ageanst a player playing an AT ST and AT ST would never get played in skirmish.  This way players that want to field an AT ST can in skirmish.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Its a massive figure so its going to have a hard time moving around to start with. If you limited it too just outdoors the figure would be pretty much unplayable since its all most half your points. Would mean the opp can get your support guys a lot easier knowing your main cant go indoors. The as-st cant attack adj so thats a pretty big down fall. Yes Weiss doesnt have that but still.

 

In Campaign the imp knows if its ok to big out the as-st and most the time it will be built into the mission.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

That would make maps irrelevant and Break the game to have massive minis run all over the board with no restrictions whatsoever. I am sure there is someone on here with more insight into this...

 

Nope, because walls still block Massive figures:

 

RRG p. 25: Walls are not terrain and are not affected by abilities that affect terrain. For example, Massive figures can enter blocking terrain but cannot move through walls.

 

 

Jonnyb815, IT does't have a hard time moving around at all. It moves through ALL TERRAIN without penalty and has line of sight always. It can push your mini out in the open, step back and then shoot you to death

 

Nope, when massive figure ends a move on another non-massive figure it may no longer move this activation (RRG p. 17):

• After a Massive figure ends its movement in spaces containing at least one other figure, the Massive figure cannot move any more during this activation.

And walls still aren't terrain (see above and below)

 

And in regards to LoS, where did you get the notion that Massives ALWAYS has LoS?? When I read LoS rules for Massives it only states that:

RRG p.16 (Massive)

  • Figures do not block line of sight to or from a Massive figure.

 

Aaaaaaand on page 7:

Blocking Terrain

Blocking terrain is represented by a solid red line surrounding

a space of the map. Figures cannot enter, be pushed into, count

spaces through, or trace line of sight through blocking terrain.

 

 Nowhere does RRG or other books say that Massives have LoS through blocking terrain (or walls which still aren't terrain)

 

lol..we'll see once more people start playing skirmish

 

 

Why wait? By now you know the drill:

RRG p. 25: Walls are not terrain and are not affected by abilities that affect terrain. For example, Massive figures can enter blocking terrain but cannot move through walls.

 

 

and also the rest of the stuff mentioned above

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...