Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
ultrasroma1975

Draining domains for Action

Recommended Posts

When in order to activate an Action, you have to pay a cost (Pay 1 to...), are you draining the resources following the same rules as if you were activating a card (i.e. you need at least one resource matching the faction of the card you want to play).

As an example, if can I activate a Hastur character's ability draining a domain without Hastur resources?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

If you refer to the "Hastur King in Yellow " ability, it only specify that you need to drain a domain with at least 3 ressources on it, no matter what faction's ressources you've put under the domains.

If a text box don't say that you need to have specific ressources on a domain to play a card (look at the FAQ, section steadfast).

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Sorry I did not explain myself well.

Let's have an example: Clover Club Torch Singer (F66) says: Action: Pay 1 to choose a character. Until the end of the phase, that character gets -2 skill.

My question is: In order to activate the card's action, do I need to drain a domain with at least a Syndicate resource as if I were put into play the card or can I drain a domain with no matter what its resources, as long as I drain one resource.

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

No, there is no need to make a resource match when paying the cost of a triggered effect (Action, Disrupt, Forced Response or Response) any resource will do.   So in your example, you could drain any domain you control (with at least one resource of any type on it) in order to trigger the Clover Club Torch Singer's effect. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Regarding triggering effects on characters-

Exhausted: Yes. As long as exhausting isn't part of the cost, i.e."Action: Pay one and exhaust ...."

Insane: No. Characters who are insane have their text boxes blank, along with their name, cost, type, skill, icons, etc. As that is the case, they have no longer have text telling you to activate anything. The only thing that would potentially be activiated is something along the lines of "Response of Forced Response: When NAME goes insane.....". That would still trigger upon them going insane.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...