Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
Armandhammer

Rules questions (increasing threat, protector, information sharing)

Recommended Posts

1) Some special setup instructions simply state: increase the threat by twice the threat level. 


 


So let’s say the threat listed in the campaign log for this particular mission was 2. 


 


Can someone simply play out how this would work and how it impacts the threat gained in the status phase (if it even does have an impact or it simply influences the special optional deployment in the beginning only). I’m pretty sure it’s self-explanatory but I’m getting threat and threat level all mixed up.


 


2) Royal Guards have a protector special ability and I simply don’t understand what the last sentence is explaining: “Limit 1 protector ability used per attack.”


 


So if I have 2 royal guards adjacent to Darth Vader, and Darth Vader is defending, only +1 block will be added to Vader’s defence roll because you are limited to 1 protector ability? 


 


3) This question will contain spoilers for the Temptations side mission:


 


 


*SPOILERS!*


 


 


 


 


 


So when Vader appears after the door opens:


 


 


Do you share with the group the special health situation with Vader?


 


Do you share with the group the new objective to defeat Vader?


 


My group was getting pretty frustrated because they aren’t used to a dungeon crawler type of game with triggers (they need to know all the objectives beforehand haha).


 


I argued that the only information that I share with them is the mission briefing text and everything else is unknown. I eventually caved in and told them about both sets of information.


 


Was I supposed to tell them or was this supposed to be unknown?


 


It impacted the gameplay greatly because they simply ignored everything else on the board and booked it to Vader instead of figuring out themselves (and being pleasantly surprised when he didn't have full health).


 


Thanks! 


Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

1) This normally means that the threat dial gets moved on by twice the mission threat level before the mission starts, so for your level 2 mission, you would increase the dial by 4. Its also usually there to allow the Imperial player an additional spend, to bring in more forces etc. during the update phase (although some missions allow the spend at Deployment). Once the mission is in progress, threat increases at the normal rate.

 

2) I read it the same way that you did - only one guard can block on a given attack.

 

3) I guess you have to tell them the updated objective, or they won't know how to complete the mission. I wouldn't share Vader's reduced health, but its personal preference.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Actually, the info you're supposed to reveal is always followed by a Rebel insignia in parenthesis.

 

I just looked at my Campaign guide real quick, and if I remember correctly, in this situation, you would tell them that Vader is defeated when he suffers damage that is equal to the number on the threat dial x2.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Hi yeah this is a tough mission but his heal isnt equal to twice the threat dial its twice the threat level.  The dial tracks "threat" the threat level is the threat level of the mission ie if its the first side quest it would be threat level 2 and Vader would need to take 4 damage.  Hope that helps.

Edited by bigwebb24

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

In fact, The Uncanny One, triangle are not "you choose" bullets.

They are "resolve once" bullets by opposition to square that are "new rules that apply till the end" bullets

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...