Sign in to follow this  
zag09

How much do I read?

Hello, I am very new to this game but I am going to GM a game as soon as I have everything prepared. I was just wondering how much of this book I need to actually just sit down and read before I will be ready to play. Also how much do my players need to read?

Thanks

Have you GMd before? I was brand new to pen and paper RPGs when I started this and found the GM section to be helpful before I started to GM myself.

I would definitely read up to and through the combat chapter, though you can probably skip over the talents. I found the skill descriptions helpful.

Okay thanks rowdyoctopus. I have GMd before but it was in DnD.

Unlearn what you have learned. This system is a loose, fun system, not a tight map driven system like you're used to in D&D. You'll be better off if when you do sit down to read you clear your mind of everything you think you know about RPGs and read it as if you were playing for the very first time. Really try and make it work, house rules in this system have a bad habit of cascading through the system and causing unexpected problems.

And the Pirate is right, get your head around things like the dice, basic mechanics, range system, and combat before you tackle space combat. The space/vehicle combat system is pretty decent in that it allows for fast uncomplicated encounters, but it doesn't work ANYTHING like what most people expect.

Welcome, zag09! This is a great game - I hope you and your players enjoy it! Remember to give them some say in the narrative - let them propose the effects of advantage and triumph, and be liberal with boost dice. Be liberal with setback dice too, to keep the pressure on.

Edited by Pac_Man3D

Build some PCs and grab some of the adversaries from the adversary chapter and run some combats walk through the combat chapter while doing this. Think about the narrative to why and how the advantages and triumphs and threats and despairs happen.