Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
Wakrob

Does a Reponse involving a Tackle trigger when Tackled?

Recommended Posts

We had a few cases were I was unsure if a Response would trigger.

 

Human Bltizer Response - When successfully tackles gain the ball.

 

An event was up that had bad weather of some sort - Roll two dice on all tackle attempts and apply BOTH dice.

 

My Blitzer tackled a guy and himself fell down with the two dice.  So does he get the ball? He did successfully tackle but once you are knocked down you lose all your text abilities...

 

Another example came up where a Witch Elf Star Player had the ability that every tackle gave a cheat token to the tackler and the tackled.  She was then tackled...does her reponse give them both a cheat token before she loses the power?

 

Wakrob

Edited by Wakrob

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

ok so the human blitzer first , and I would definitely recommend asking the officials on this one.  but I do think that when he tackles while standing up he gets the ball now in this case,  he is downed and successfully tackled,  now the way I see it, the question would kinda be a timing issue.  like say you role both dice and its a successful tackle right ? you get the ball no question asked, then the dark elf team exhausts their dark lace card causing your tackle who is holding the all to become downed, he then now drops the ball.  so the ball should most probably be at center field at the end result of him being downed and not having sure hands.  so sorry to say it, but I vote he doesn't keep the ball regardless of him picking it up or not.

 

  now the witch elf.  I would say yes both players her and the tackling player gets a cheating token, because it triggers the response and fulfills what is written on the card, however now that she is down every tackle attempt afterwords wont get any one a cheating token cause her abilities are void.  just my two cents :) 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I like your take on the Witch Elf cheat power.

 

For the Human Blitzer I think it depends on if both dice are applied simultaneously or not.  If you resolve the dice one at a time he either tackles, gets the ball, and then falls down and loses the ball....or he falls down, loses his power, and then tackles the target.

But even if they are applied simultaneously it could be that they are both 'tackled', he gets the ball...then they both fall down and he loses the ball.  Or they both fall down and then his power cant trigger because he lost it.....seems like in no version of timing does the Blitzer get the ball.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

yeah it took a lot of thought to answer, I took a lot of things in consideration, however to rid all doubt feel free to ask the officials on this one.  every now n then I find some wording that is hard to have a straight answer for with out one"an official ruling that is" lol  my group for example along time ago refused to believe that force of will the black fangs team upgrade doubled the blood tokens cause its wording sais adds one  instead of doubles so they took it as adding one star power to each matchup were a blood tokens was present much like the elves team upgrade where it only adds +1 to their team at the score board faze to them at each match up where their team has the ball.  and thought that doubling all blood tokens was "over powering"  so, I can see how easy it is to get mixed up. 

 

  just incase you don't know how to ask for an official ruling, if ya do great and that kool, but incase you didn't or don't rather, umm scroll down to the very bottom of the screen, on the right you should see small words saying about fantasyflight games, under that professional zone,  now look to the left in small words it will say RSS, help, and then rules questions.  Click on rules questions and then submit your question and they should get back to you with in a few days to a week.  and if they don't, it never hurts to resubmit your question lol I sorta sent mine twice after its been a week and a half, and I explained and exclaimed the urgency of the answer cause my group didn't want me to play with my second favorite team the black fangs till they gave me the official ruling on it.  fyi since it does double I not only won the blood bowl tournament, but turned around and won the game :)  it was great lol longest wait for an outcome ever... for me anyways, but it was worth it.  ps again thanks for reading and I hope my dialogue has been helpful, keep having fun :) hooray for BLOODBOWL!!! :)    

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

1. Use Skills (left to right). Namely the Blitzers Tackle skill.

 

2. Downed players immediately lose any abilities. So the Blitzer loses his "Response".

 

Also you do not 'Gain the Ball' (if you remained standing). If the other player doesn't have Sure Hands, you would then use the skill to acquire it from midfield, "if you were standing".

 

If he did have sure hands the response would be to move it to midfield.

Edited by Avalanche Master

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Been a while since I played this, and its my friends cardset so can't reference, but IIRC the text is along the lines of "if this player successfully tackles an opposing player he gains the pass skill"

 

Does the text activate or is it blanked before it activates? It doesn't matter, as the gained pass skill is a standing pass skill (this is assumed to be the default unless its flagged as a downed skill), so once the human blitzer is downed he can't resolve any more standing skills.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Yeah, I miswrote that.  The Blitzer gains the Ball Skill after a successful tackle.

 

So it seems a response goes away before it can be used if you get downed from the trigger.

 

My only question now is if you have to apply both tackle dice from some effect....do they get applied one at a time resolving all triggers from the first before you apply the second or are they simultanious.

 

Wakob

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

simple tackle time line:

 

- POW -> Tackle successful -> Opponent goes down

- Blank -> Tackle unsuccessful -> nothing happens

- Cross -> Tackle unsuccessful -> Player goes down

 

So, the Blitzer tackles successful and unsuccessful, because both results applies simultaniously. He got the PASS-Skill as a result of his response. But he is downed, so he can't use the new received PASS-Skill. In the end, both players are down and the Blitzer do not get the Ball.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...