Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
WhereAreTheNecrons

Deploying From HQ

Recommended Posts

You are not able to deploy units from your HQ, only your hand.

 

Units at HQ will move with your Warlord when your Warlord commits to a planet.

 

There are some special cards that let you move units from your HQ to a planet.  This is considered a 'move' and not a deployment.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Ok i wanted to ask about the same thing and i took my answer looking at this thread .. I wanted to ask though during the headquarter 's phase you can move your warlord or your units from planets back to HQ?

...and committing units with the warlord which ones get exhausted ?

Edited by Cthonian

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

No, you can't move units from Planets to HQ during the HQ Phase or the Deploy phase.

 

Unless you have a card that allows you to move units to your HQ (or to your hand and then to your HQ), the only way to move units to HQ is between Combat Rounds.

 

You need to complete a full Combat Round and then, after readying the units, you decide which ones you want to retreat with from the Planet, but you risk losing it.

 

It has been commented here, if you want more info on this:

 

http://community.fantasyflightgames.com/index.php?/topic/114379-deploying-retreating-oh-my/

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

 .. I wanted to ask though during the headquarter 's phase you can move your warlord or your units from planets back to HQ?

 

No. You cannot move your units freely in the Headquarters phase, or any other phase.

 

At this time in the game, there are only five ways you can move a unit from a planet to the HQ, and two of them only apply to warlords:

1. By using a card effect that specifically moves a unit, routs it, etc.

2. By choosing to retreat the unit during active combat at that planet.

3. By winning the battle at the first planet (all surviving units return to HQ at the end of battle at the first planet)

4. FOR WARLORDS ONLY: at the end of battle at a planet other than the first planet

5. FOR WARLORDS ONLY: automatically when Bloodied

 

So once the Combat phase is over, all units (including your warlord) stay where they are during the HQ phase, unless you use a card effect.

 

...and committing units with the warlord which ones get exhausted ?

 

During the Command phase, you choose your planet on the dial, the move your warlord and ALL units in your HQ to that planet. The Warlord arrives in whatever state (ready or exhausted) it started in. ALL OTHER units arrive exhausted (unless you have a card effect that says otherwise, of course).

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

They stay where they are.

 

RRG, p. 26-27:

"When a player wins a battle at any other planet, his warlord (if it was at that planet) returns to its headquarters, maintaining its state. The planet remains in play, and other surviving units remain at that planet, also maintaining their state."

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

 

During the Command phase, you choose your planet on the dial, the move your warlord and ALL units in your HQ to that planet. The Warlord arrives in whatever state (ready or exhausted) it started in. Army and Token units arrive exhausted (unless you have a card effect that says otherwise, of course).

 

 

Fixed that for you

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Point 4 also applies to Synapse units. And there is another way to move a unit to HQ:

6. At the end of the combat phase, any Warlord or Synapse unit still at a planet is returned to HQ, maintaining its state.

 

This rule was added for Warlords in the FAQ to deal with Orbital City dropping Aun'shi at a planet that had already been checked for combat. It was added for Synapses in the Great Devourer rulesheet (which, unfortunately, is not available online, afaik).

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Fixed that for you

It was accurate when it was written (almost a year and a half ago) since Tyranids had not been released yet. It's actually still accurate now, unless you are playing Tyranids and using their special command dial - in which case, the whole thing is moot because it assumes a single planet chosen during command.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...