Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
Omegaclone

Command the Empire! Article discussion.

Recommended Posts

Darth Vader looks especially viscous with two attacks and Force Choke.
 
Kudos Fantasy Flight for putting direct links to the cards in the article, very nice touch.

 

http://www.fantasyflightgames.com/ffg_content/imperial-assault/core-set-previews/preview-5/at-st.png

 

Discovered my first Skirmish Squad/Group:

Darth Vader: 18

AT-ST: 14

Elite E-Web Engineer: 8

Total: 40

 

Interesting the AT-ST can not attack adjacent figures. You would think it could stomp them, I guess it can't see them?

 

 

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I'm assuming the AT-ST is elite only.

The General Weiss pack can be used as General Weiss or a standard AT-ST (if I remember right).

He only comes with 2 command cards though.  So that would be one for Weiss and another for likely the same thing as the AT-ST in the core set.

That would make me think the AT-ST is elite only.  This would be possibly to limit the amount of them you can use...but I don't see how you'd make a 40 point army with more than 2 anyways.

 

I guess certain units are just powerful enough that they didn't do a non-elite version.

Edited by kmanweiss

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

If it's elite only, does that mean if the Empire gets it, they have to wait until they get it again in order to use it?  The rules say that the first time you get an ally/villain, you get the standard version, and the second time, you get the elite version.  I don't recall seeing anything talking about what would happen if there's only an elite version.

 

EDIT:  Ok, I remember reading the rule I mention above, but maybe I was hallucinating - I can't find it anywhere now, and now I'm not sure what kind of limitations there are on getting an elite unit.

Edited by felkor

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Under the rebel allies section:

If an ally has both a regular and elite Deployment card, only

the regular card can be used as an ally. If an ally is rewarded to

the heroes and the heroes have already earned that ally, they

can use either the elite or regular Deployment card.

 

 

So if you are playing the rebels in campaign and get the rebel troopers as a reward, you take the regular group first.  Then if you get them as a reward again, you can use either.

That was the only rule I could find in reference to what you spoke of.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Thanks!

So I guess it doesn't apply to the Empire then - sounds like it's Rebel specific.  The Elite will then mainly mean that powers that only affect regular figures won't affect the AT-ST.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I'm digging the elite officer.

 

Giving another figure an attack action is awesome, and I feel that stunning a Rebel Hero will always be useful.

Especially since the Command isn't technically an attack, so the Officer can do it twice and give a powerful unit two attacks at once.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

 

I'm digging the elite officer.

 

Giving another figure an attack action is awesome, and I feel that stunning a Rebel Hero will always be useful.

Especially since the Command isn't technically an attack, so the Officer can do it twice and give a powerful unit two attacks at once.

 

 

 

His Imperial Majesty, The Emperor:  "Everything that has transpired has done so according to my design."

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...