Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
Yajirobe

Bestial Forces - Question about Dispel and Stun.

Recommended Posts

Hi guys, loved the new expansion, but a couple questions were raised while we were playing.

 

 

1- Can I Dispel (as in using the card Dispel) a Creature spell? It has the symbol for a neutral spell, but it summoned a being. If it is able to be dispelled, I assume that the creature is removed and if it is the Boggart, carried treasures just drop on the square it was located right?

 

2- Does spending movement points for activating a creature count as moving for purposes on the Stun restriction of move-or-attack clause? Or would only moving itself blocks attacking if you are stunned on a turn?

 

thanks

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

1. Yes, you can dispel a creature. It's rather strong, but creatures are also rather strong, so, in some cases, it's a savelife opportunity. And indeed, when dispelled, the creature is removed, and, in case it's the Boggart, the treasure is dropped.

 

Additionally, since summoning a creature is a neutral spell, you can also cast Negate Neutral while your opponent is casting the spell.

 

2. Gaining movement points and movement are two different things: while stunned, you cannot move, but you have movement points. So, yeah, you can spend them to activate creatures.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

2. Gaining movement points and movement are two different things: while stunned, you cannot move, but you have movement points. So, yeah, you can spend them to activate creatures.

you sure about this ?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Got an answer from Nathan today:

 

Hi Julia,

 
A wizard that is Stunned can still spend movement point to activate creatures. The rule only addresses the wizard’s ability to leave the square. Even though he can activate his creatures, that wizard is still tied to that square if he chooses to attack during his turn. 
 
Thanks,

Nathan Hajek
Creative Content Developer
Fantasy Flight Games

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I dunno. I don't find it so weird or unintuitive. Granted, this isn't really delineated as such in the rules, but I can see and agree with the stance that there is a distinction between actual movement, and movement points themselves. Such a clarification is certainly worthy of a faq entry in the future.

I look at it like this thematically. A stunned wizard leans against a wall, clearly dazed. But still has enough mental fortitude to command a creature mentally under his geas to do his bidding, freeing up his mental reserves to cast an attack spell.

But as you noted, its an official response, so even if it is disagreed with, it helps consistency in the community so that a good thing.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  

×