Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
Asgard

Token Unit

Recommended Posts

Can a token unit claim command during the command phase at a planet if there are no other units apposing it ? 

 

I don't want to believe that they can, because they are primarily 'support' and not Units.... correct???   :(

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

No. 

 

Assuming there are no warlords present, command struggles are won by the player with the most command icons (on ready units) at a planet. The number of units at the planet doesn't matter at all for determining who wins the command struggle -- only the number of command icons. A non-warlord unit without command icons (and none of the token units have command icons) can never win a command struggle on its own, even if the opponent has no units at all on that planet.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

 

Can a token unit claim command during the command phase at a planet if there are no other units apposing it ? 

 

I don't want to believe that they can, because they are primarily 'support' and not Units.... correct???   :(

 

 

Papa: they are units, just "token units" instead of "army units" or "warlord units." The reason they can't win command on their own is because they have no command icons, not because of the type of card they are. There are army units without command icons, too, and they also would not be able to win a command struggle -- even if the opponent had no units of his own at the planet.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Okay, I learned something new concerning the rules of the game. :)

These dastardly tokens, even if you can't utilize them for command struggles, but can be utilized for planetary support. (Note to self: Self, be careful with wording and descriptions when working through the online medium). :D

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

The amount of depth in this game is amazing. Each day I come onto this site and other Conquest sites I learn something new. There have been only a few times in my life that I have eagerly awaited a new product.... This is one of those times.  :)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Just to example how close to wording you need to look (something I'm finding out myself with this game), is the card Power from Pain.

 

Combat Action: Your opponent must sacrifice an army unit, if able.

 

If your opponent has a really awesome army unit and a token unit at a planet....they can't sacrifice the token unit as the card specifies Army Unit

 

Until I started reading these rules threads, I would've sacrificed (or allowed sacrificed) a token unit for this card. :P  Now I read the cards much more closely and am seeing a lot more strategy open up.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...