Sign in to follow this  
DeeRow

Germany reporting in/ my starter-experience

Hi there.

I just started playing last week this quite old game, but i am really enjoying every part of it.
Although the whole rule-board seem very tough, i managed them quite good by watching lots of yt-videos of gamers (tragic blathering is great and hilarious in his rounds) who explain every bit by showing a whole game in many parts, slowly and nearly correct.

My way of playing is solo with the core-basic-version only, i lack of any expansions so far. I randomize the investigators and the Old Ones, but take care of playing every combination one at a time.

A few minor questions came to my mind which i'd like to get resolved, mainly not concerning rules, but other stuff:

1. I play with 4 Investigators and manage quite good to only travel gates when one is able to seal them. As i went through this forum, i learnt that games last 90 Minutes or so, but my games always exceed 3 hours, often more so. Normal? I am new, but not a slow gamer, not much rule-book-usage or something. Even Yig took hours, and the doom-counter never reached 6.

2. I play with a special gate-burst-idea of adding 5 health-signs to a sealed gate, subtracting one when a gate-symbol appears in the mythos-phase. Anyone else does this?

3a). Does a person being LiTaS lose bank-loans? I guess not.
3b) Does a person being LiTaS rolls dice for loans and bless/curse? I guess so.
3c) Is a person in the Other Worlds affected by Upkeep-Retainers? I mean, when i'm off into the Abyss, do i get the money bec. it is transferred to a bank-account? I played that way, but is it right?

4. Do you discard Items that you did not buy on a discard pile or do you shuffle them back in?
I always use to discard them, how about you fellow players?