Sign in to follow this  
spaceman727270

Mental Illness in Characters?

I'm not too well versed in the lore of 40K as a whole, and I'm not in possession of any rulebooks for Rogue Trader, my GM has them, but I can't get at them unless I'm with him (which is rare). So I was trying to make my character have a little bit more depth and I was toying with the idea of giving him some sort of mental illness, preferably one that would make him interesting to role-play. Are there any mental illnesses in the rules or would this have to be home-brewed? And if so, does anyone have any suggestions for something that may be interesting?

There are some mental illnesses in the system, which are presented as part of the Insanity system.  I have no direct experience with these though, as none of my players have gotten to that level.

Mental Illness could be interesting, but in my experience has to be played carefully or it risk becoming  the entirety of the character, a crutch put in place of a personality.  I wouldn't worry about homebrewing it or anything - most Mental Illnesses are just that, mental - they can be convoyed entirely through how you Role Play the character, with little to no mechanical effect.

As for suggestions, it really depends on what character you're playing, what kind of background they had, what do they do for the Dynasty, and what your comfortable playing.  Unless you gained your position by virtue of Nepotisum or are the Rogue Trader yourself, your mental illness cannot be anything sever enough impair your function as a critical member of the command crew.  That rules out most major ones.