Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
Scalding

I lost a rule

Recommended Posts

How embarrassing...

 

We've been playing since the Edge of the Empire Beginner's box came out, just upgrading characters as the rulebooks became accessible and so on.

 

One of the rules we've been playing with is that, when a particularly important Nemesis takes damage exceeding its Wound Threshold, after it suffers the Critical Injury, the GM may spend a Destiny Point to reduce the Nemesis' wounds to one below its Wound Threshold. 

 

This gives important Nemesis a chance to escape and makes it possible to actually kill off the Nemesis via a high critical injury.

 

Since getting the Age of Rebellion rulebook, and now looking at the Force and Destiny Beta, I have not seen that rule.  Am I imagining things?  I can't remember where I read it, and I can't seem to find it in any of my books.

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

That's only 1/2 a RAW rule.  Anybody who takes damage exceeding their Wound Threshold suffers a Critical, and if Nemeses are supposed to be like PCs, they might as well too.

 

The DP flip is not RAW, but I like it.  It's sort of like this:

 

http://angrydm.com/2010/04/the-dd-boss-fight-part-1/

 

...but less powerful.  That link has some really good ideas on how to set up a boss fight and give the boss some abilities to facilitate a 3-act scene in cases where the boss is supposed to give the PCs a run for their money.  It's set up for D&D4, but the principles could still apply.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Maybe you are thinking od some of the stuff in the Edge GM kit on nemesises....

 

It's not in there as far as I can see.

 

I actually like that rule, though I'm not sure the GM needs to flip a Destiny point to make it happen. I guess if he wanted to make a point about the Nemesis getting away in plain view of the PCs, it would make sense.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

It's rather odd, because I distinctly remember reading it ... somewhere.  Particularly, I always remember the wording that it "reduces the Nemesis' wounds to one point below their wound threshold," which struck me as odd because it's actually 2 points below "unconsciousness", not one. (If I had made it up, it would have been "reduce nemesis' wounds to their wound threshold.")

 

It's been bugging me a bit lately because I didn't see it in the new material, but also because I'm helping some other people learn the system to GM it themselves and I don't want to be passing house rules as official rules.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I've skimmed through my books and couldn't find anything. Might have been just a suggestion on here or maybe something said in a podcast and written here.

 

Regardless, even though there might not be a hard rule for it, like CaptainRaspberry said, there's really nothing stopping a GM from using a Destiny Point or even just using their general handwaving to just let the Nemesis get away when they should be dead/knocked out. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...