Sign in to follow this  
Kungfujon

Unarmed combat question

Hi all,

I'm hoping someone can help me.  I'm new to the system and I'm going to start running a game soon.  One of my players wants to be a stealthy, "black ops" rebel commando (think Solid Snake).

One of the things he would like to be able to do is to sneak up behind someone (like a guard) and either knock them out or put them in a sleeper hold unitl they pass out.

Are there existing mechanics to support this?  All I can initially find is do to nonlethal, unarmed damage until the target's strain threshold is met.  But looking at the dice, it looks like this may take a few rounds to complete. 

Does it seem reasonable to use advantage pips to keep the guard from just screaming out or moving away and shooting?  Consider him grappled, then let the player roll an attack each turn until he scores enough successes to meet the strain threshold.

Any other thoughts?  Am I missing an existing mechanic?

Thanks so much for any help you can offer,

Jon

I go with the common sense rule here, which is if a player can sneak up behind a Minion undetected, they can knock them out or kill them without a roll. If it's a Rival, maybe have them make a Brawl check against an Easy or Simple difficulty, just to see how smoothly it goes, but otherwise narrate it.

As for a Nemesis, I'd just do straight combat.

I would let them spend advantages to control things like crying out, maybe 2 or 3 required.  Any extra successes from a Stealth check might turn into free advantages on the first round; or maybe advantages on the Stealth check might be enough to get a good hold that requires a contested Athletics check to break before they can cry out.  It might take a few rounds, but that's reasonable too.

The player should know their character isn't likely to be able to do this right off the bat, but working up to good Stealth and Brawl ranks and taking the right Talent tree can make them pretty good at it.