Sign in to follow this  
player645901

Tech-priest: Heretical Behavior?

Hi guys,

As stated in my last post, I'm new to GMing and this game in general, but not to 40k. My group hasn't started actually playing yet, but we've been doing some introductory character-work, and I have a question about the Tech-priest, the answer to which seems kind of ambiguous in the material I've read.

Basically, the guy playing the Tech-priest wants his character to be a fervent worshipper of the Omnissiah, to the point where he views all biological flesh as weak. As such, he wants to always be attempting to give people implants. Not like, assaulting people, but say if a member of his party were injured, instead of healing him right off, he might be like "So, while you're injured.. you know a cybernetic arm would be MUCH better than this poor broken one.." or when fighting enemies, might hack their arm off and then when bringing them in for questioning, attempt to attach some kind of mechanical replacement, just because it 'makes the galaxy a little less imperfect."

The issue I see is, is this considered heretek behavior? It seems pretty in-line with the worship of the Machine God, but I know I've read several places that the Cult Mechanicus is pretty stingy with its technology: IE, it thinks only its members should have access. I know in Creatures Anathema there are several examples of hereteks who were declared such for sharing technology willy-nilly. However, cybernetic replacement parts seem available to anyone based on the core book, assuming they have the cash and someone who can attach them.

Assuming he sticks to already-available cybernetics, and doesn't share any tech 'secrets' or exclusive tech like mechadendrites, could he behave in this manner without attracting the unfavorable attention of the Cult? I'm not unwilling to let him do it either way... I just want to know if he will face consequences from his contemporaries for it.