Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
Tracker1

Haldir and Dunhere

37 posts in this topic

Further, can Haldir attack an enemy that engaged the previous round cor the normal attack, and then attack it again using his combat action, as long as no new enemies were engaged that round?

 

No because Haldir specifically says that his ability only works with enemies not engaged with you.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I got an answer.  The question was "can you use cards to attack enemies in the same phase after you play Hobbit-sense," and "what cards does FAQ entry 1.11 apply to."  Here is the reply:

 

Let me answer your second question first: FAQ entry 1.11 was meant to clarify that the game only grants each player 1 attack against each enemy even when using Ranged. That was because the way the core rules were written the restriction only applied to enemies engaged with you. Entry 1.11 should NOT be interpreted as limiting all additional methods of declaring attacks, such as Quick Strike, Hands Upon the Bow, Great Yew Bow or Haldir. Those methods are card effects that generate attacks and are thus exempt from the rule that limits the number of attacks granted by the core game rules and FAQ.
That leads us into your first question: Hobbit-sense prevents enemies engaged with you from making attacks granted by the Resolve Enemy Attacks step of the combat phase, and it prevents you from making attacks granted by the Attacking Enemies step. It does not prevent you from using those other card effects I mentioned. Those cards generate attacks but they do not technically “declare attacks” as described in the rules because they skip skip the declaration of attack and step 1 of Attacking Enemies by having you choose an enemy target and telling you which character to exhaust. 
Cheers,
Caleb

-------------------

 

So: the 'once per round' rule applies only to attacks declared through the normal framework (which includes Ranged attacks).  Any card effect granting an 'extra' attack will not consume your 'once per round' declaration limit.  So you can attack an enemy in the staging area via your normal attack with Dunhere, then follow-up with a second attack using Haldir's ability.  

 

And, Hobbit-sense doesn't prevent you from attacking enemies via card effects.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Those cards generate attacks but they do not technically “declare attacks” as described in the rules because they skip skip the declaration of attack and step 1 of Attacking Enemies by having you choose an enemy target and telling you which character to exhaust. 

Cheers,
Caleb

 

 

This is different from Quick Strike (Core 35), which targets a character and allows them to perform a normal attack, which is a framework effect

 

 

 

At the risk of being picky, dont these 2 directly contradict each other?

Edited by DaeMord

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

No. The second one refere to immunity, not to additional declaration of attack.

It does seem that way when you read them out of context, but you shouldn't read them out of context.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

actually i disagree, these 2 subjects overlap if an extra attack is not a framework effect, then quickstrike should not be able to be used against imune to player card effect mobs, however if it is a framework effect then you should not be able to be used in the way defined above.

 

Quick strike in the faq was specificly defined to target the hero card and then do an attack using framework effects, in order that it could be used against mobs who are imune to player card effects, the wording above from caleb would suggest that actually quickstrike targets the mob in question thus should be effected by things that prevent non framework effects from happening

 

The 2 rulings are in contradiction, either it produces a framework effect and targets the hero, or it doesnt and targets the mob, but then cannot be used against immune to player card effects

 

this effects anything doing anything like this, and tbh shouldnt be seen to be doing both because if it is targeting the mob, but bypassing imunity, this raises questions about what is a "framework effect" and once again raises "immunity to player card effects" as a somewhat confusing and ildefined ruling

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

DaeMord, I agree and said pretty much exactly the same thing earlier in this thread.  If it's a framework effect it shouldn't be breaking limits imposed on framework effects, if it's not a framework effect it shouldn't work against immune enemies.

 

My gut tells me that we are dealing a little with 'tradition' rather than just consistent reasoning, and devs are trying to clarify current rules questions, especially as they relate to newer game effects, without overturning old rulings (the old Quick Strike ruling vs. the newer immunity rules).  It leads to explanations that look contradictory.

 

alogos has the correct response, I think.  

Edited by GrandSpleen

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I do agree thats probably what were looking at, the concern i have, is when you compile all of these rules together you end up arriving at this kind of conclusion.

 

You can use quick strike on Hero Beorn to attack an enemy that is also imune to player card effects.

 

This may be the ruling but it just seems wrong to me.

 

I feel personally that quick strike could do with an erata to clarify exactly what it is and is not targetting, and could we please have a specific definition on EXACTLY what a framework effect is, because i struggle to define a framework effect that actually allows all these rules to happen consistently, and without simply being "because caleb says so"

i mean ill grant you that all rules are ultimately that, but if were completely honest even if it is just "cause caleb says so" the very least we would like to see is internal consistency that you dont have rules breaking rules, which potentially is exactly what is happening right here

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Hi all,

 

I'm going through my mind-breaking construction of a new Haldir deck.

Do we declare an attack with the combat action of Haldir, or is it just a Combat action that enables you to declare Haldir as an attacker. I got 2 questions for it:

1. Unseen strike

Question: Can we use Unseen Strike when using the Combat Action of Haldir.

2. Black Arrow

 

Question: Can we use Black Arrow when using the Combat Action of Haldir.

This might seem dumb questions, but I'm rather confused on this topic, so wanted to check it.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0