Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
HastAttack

Shadow Event Cards

6 posts in this topic

Are event card that come out of shadows classed as being played

 

e.g. I brought Fiery Kiss out of shadows and someone wanted to cancel it with Finger Dance - "cancel an event card just played"

 

Should they be allowed to do that?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I'm pretty sure it cannot be cancelled - had a similar issue with Baelor and ktom replied:

 

The "as if you played it from your hand" doesn't kick in until after the card comes out of Shadows. Bringing a card out of Shadows is not playing it. So Baelor cannot stop you from bringing an event card out of Shadows.

 

... But what can you do when opponents are determined to stop you winning the game :) 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Actually, they can be cancelled. You cancel an effect after it has been triggered. At that point, Shadow events have come out and are therefore considered to have been played. Baelor is another kettle of fish, since his effect works before cards are played.

 

 

After an event card comes out of Shadows, it is treated in the same manner as a non-Shadows event card played from a player’s hand.

Devon Greatwolf likes this

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Khudzlin is correct. There is a difference between the timing of Baelor and cancels that ends up making them work differently with Shadow events. 

 

To reiterate and repeat (for no particular reason):

 

- Bringing an event card out of Shadows is not "playing" that card, so something like Baelor cannot stop you from bringing the card out of Shadows or triggering Responses (including its own) to bringing it out of Shadows.

- Once the Shadow event card is out of Shadows, though, the rules say it "counts" as if it had been "played." So cards that cancel events that were "just played" can cancel the Response of a Shadow event (which is always triggered after the card comes out of Shadows and the "counts as played" rule has kicked in).

Devon Greatwolf likes this

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Since this is a shadow event thread, I just wanted to add, that most S1 events are not considered to have a "gold cost" with regards to Papershield.  This is because of how the shadow event is handled.  Paying the 1 gold to bring the card out of shadows is not considered playing the event.  It is simply bringing the card out of shadows.  Then, when you trigger the response, you determine costs - you have to look to see if the response itself has any costs.    The Long Plan is an example of the cost being included in the trigger.  In that example, Papershield cannot cancel it.

Edited by Slothgodfather

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0