Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
player1373672

Unending darkness

10 posts in this topic

Hi all,

 

Last weekend, we in our game group had an argument about the unending darkness mythos card.

 

the card reads:

Ongoing Effect: Place 10 clue tokens on this card. When a monster moves from the street area or a location to the sky or into a vortex (on either the dunnwich or innsmouth boards), remove a token.

Pass: If each investigator is Blessed, return this card to the box. Each investigator has his max sanity increased by 1. Any player with 1 or more madnesses cards (from the dunwich Horror expansion) may choose1 to discard.

Fail: If the number of clue tokens on this card is less than the terror level, return it to the box. All players discard all spells and then return the spell deck is returned to the box for the rest of the game.

No gate but two doom tokens are added tot he doom track. and moon monsters move black while plus monsters move white.

 

The problem is the part that says ftom the Dunwich Horror expansion.
Does this means you can only discard madness cards that come originally with that expansion.

Or, and this is what i thought, because it is between brackets it is only a referal to the dunwich horror expansion, in case you don't have that one and you may discard any madness card even if it came with the Miskatonic Horror expansion.

 

I don't know if trhis question is already resolved, but I hope you guys could help me.

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Madness coming with Miskatonic have the Dunwich symbol in gold in the lower right corner, IIRC, so that this means that they expand that expansion. Hence the wording on the card is correct: it doesn't matter the physical box that hosted that card, Madnesses and Injuries are Dunwich components.

 

The real problem with this card is the wording "if each investigator is blessed". What does it mean? Each investigator is blessed = has a blessing at the same time? Each investigator is blessed because, while the rumor's running, earns a Blessing? What if an investigator had already been Blessed before the rumor appeared? Does that count? Or not?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Normally, Julia, I would laugh with you over the ambiguity of "blessed" and "cursed," but in this case I think the intent is clearly "blessed, the status of owning a blessing." Arkham is typically very good about counting occurrences, and the card doesn't seem to keep track of each time an investigator is blessed.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Aye, agreed with you on this point, but I cannot really believe that the rumor was designed in such a penalizing way for larger teams. It's impossible for an 8-investigator team to actually have 8 blessings at the same time (not to mention 10 blessings: if you play all in, 10-investigator games are possible, and Rumors do not scale due to the board reduction factor).

 

Plus, what if you have a cursed investigator being Blessed? Not enough to check a +1 on the rumor? Not so sure I agree with you that this doesn't count, sorry :)

 

Seriously. Not saying you're wrong, beware, I'm just saying that, if the wording is to played literally, it's just a badly designed card (not that I'm particularly fond of the Rumors coming with MH in general)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Right, I get you. I still think it's "simultaneously blessed" and they were probably thinking that the fair counterbalance was the fact that all investigators get the max increase. Also consider that Dance of the Damned requires all investigators to be blessed and have Tomes! That may be a promotional card but that's pretty stupidly impossible even for 4 investigators at times (Tsathoggua or Y'Golonac? Forget it.).

 

But, all considered, Unending Darkness is a MH rumor we're talking about, and those tend to be hard to pass.

Edited by Tibs

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Fair points on both issues. Additionally, uhm, penalties for failing Unending Darkness are not so terrible. I mean, you can win games without the spell deck in play. Dunno.

 

Never had that one being failed or passed, tho. It's usually quite a long rumor you can control in some ways, so you can keep it running as shield for other rumors and try to win / lose the game in between.

 

Anyhoo, interesting reflections, thanks :)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I think It is simultaniuos blessed. We did that with 8 ppl and we started out with a curesed rex... so, is not impossible. It just depends on wich herald, wich acient one ect. And I agree you can win without spells. Although this agains depends on wich acient one and herrald you are playing against. Thx for the Help guys :D

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I agree with Tibs onthe simultaneous ruling; however this is an example of a Rumor which guided my ruling for my games in which I would need to have the # of Investigators - the expansion map Blessed to satisfy the requirement.

Edited by The Professor

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Yes, indeed...I don't know if you ever saw my House rules, but particular Rumors are bloody devastating if you're trying to negotiate several boards and you have to satisfy the requirment back in the French Hill District.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0