Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
Garomo

Two weapon combat with shield

12 posts in this topic

The colonist handbook has a riot shield as new melee weapon. Let's say I want to hold a blaster pistol in one hand and the riot shield in the other. I would only be attacking with the blaster, the shield merely bolsters my defense rating. Would I still need to apply the two weapon penalty to any attacks made with the blaster?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

You could do it anyway, the dual wielding rules allow for it.  It's two different skills (melee and ranged) so the base difficulty is increased by 2, and the shield might be an "improvised weapon" of small or medium size (depending on shield size) with whatever penalty that applies (AFB at the moment).

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

You could do it anyway, the dual wielding rules allow for it.  It's two different skills (melee and ranged) so the base difficulty is increased by 2, and the shield might be an "improvised weapon" of small or medium size (depending on shield size) with whatever penalty that applies (AFB at the moment).

 

The shield wouldn't be an improvised weapon.  It's listed in Far Horizons as a weapon, rather than as armor.

Aservan likes this

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Then you only need to follow the two weapon fighting rules if attacking with both. Pick highest difficulty, lowest skill and increase difficulty by two (2).

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

You could do it anyway, the dual wielding rules allow for it.  It's two different skills (melee and ranged) so the base difficulty is increased by 2, and the shield might be an "improvised weapon" of small or medium size (depending on shield size) with whatever penalty that applies (AFB at the moment).

 

The shield wouldn't be an improvised weapon.  It's listed in Far Horizons as a weapon, rather than as armor.

Odd, but that works. Don't have my copy yet...

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

You could do it anyway, the dual wielding rules allow for it.  It's two different skills (melee and ranged) so the base difficulty is increased by 2, and the shield might be an "improvised weapon" of small or medium size (depending on shield size) with whatever penalty that applies (AFB at the moment).

 

The shield wouldn't be an improvised weapon.  It's listed in Far Horizons as a weapon, rather than as armor.

Odd, but that works. Don't have my copy yet...

Yeah, I thought it was an odd choice, too… but they gave it Defensive 2 and Deflection 2 to make it seem more armor-like, so that's okay.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I don't see a problem, but I haven't gotten my copy yet. so actually no idea.

 

If you just shoot with your pistol and cower behind your shield no problem. don't forget the encumberance total though - guessing shields don't weigh like paper.

 

Does the shield have cumbersome? aaaand what are the other stats for it? :ph34r:

 

ed: taking one hour to post comment makes one ask partly redundant questions

Edited by derroehre

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Actually it has encumbrance (*edit: i meant cumbersome) 3. While you may not be attacking with it, you are holding it in one hand as you shoot your pistol with the other hand. It may not be a two weapon setup, but it does feel like there should be some kind of restriction on the pistol while using a shield.

Edited by Garomo

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I am confused, the fluff text of the shield says it can be used as a improvised weapon, not that it is a weapon before being "a shield". I think the exact words are improvised, somewhat awkward weapon. Hence the damage of +0.

 

I think "when using it as a weapon" dual weapon rules would apply. When using it just as a shield, like say a Roman Centurion would, it would not be counted in. So the Defensive/Deflection would be part of the "shield" and the Disorient is part of the weapon aspect. The cumbersome quality would affect any attack be it single or dual though.

 

Its encumbrance is actually 5, clarifying what Garomo typed.

Edited by fatedtodie

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0