Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
TiMBa

Question regarding the Philosopher Character and the Ancient Names Reward

7 posts in this topic

Philosopher

 

Special Abilities
You begin the game with one Spell.
Whenever you land on faceup Adventure Cards, you may discard one card of your choice that you do not wish to encounter and draw another card to replace it, which you must encounter.
Whenever you draw a Spell you do not wish to keep, you may discard it and draw another one to replace it, which you must keep.
 
Ancient Names
 
Keep this card. Each spirit has 1 Spell (take 4 Spells from the Spell deck, look at them, and place them on this card). The spirits will cast the Spells whenever you wish (treat the Spells as though you had cast them). Discard this card when the last Spell is cast.
 
Q:
Can the Philosopher discard all of those 4 spells to draw new ones that will replace them, or can she replace only one?
 
Thoughts:
About the ability with the faceup adventure cards, they say that "you may discard one card",
but with the spells they don't mention the amount.
 
Maybe she souldn't replace them at all cause they belong to the spirits and not directly to her.. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Read the Philosophers Special Abilities "Whenever you draw a Spell you do not wish to keep"

 

And the Ancient Names "Each spirit has 1 Spell take 4 Spells from the Spell deck, look at them".

 

So where does it say draw?

Edited by Uvatha

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Not in that situation.

 

Maybe if he can take his full compliment of spells.

 

Can he replace each one of them?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Not in that situation.

 

Maybe if he can take his full compliment of spells.

 

Can he replace each one of them?

 

Yes, in that case you treat each Spell as a separate draw. Draw first Spell, keep if you wish, otherwise use the ability to replace it with another Spell that you must take. Draw next Spell, keep if you wish... and so on, until you've gained your full complement of Spells.

 

 

Maybe she souldn't replace them at all cause they belong to the spirits and not directly to her.. 

 

 

Maybe it should be added in the FAQ that the Philosopher is a male character. :)  You're not the first one that has misinterpreted the character artwork, see this old thread:

 

http://community.fantasyflightgames.com/index.php?/topic/9838-more-female-characters-please/?hl=philosopher#entry95185

Edited by The_Warlock

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Of course there is perfectly nothing wrong with assuming he is she. I have for years myself.

 

  Its whats inside that counts.

 

At any rate, gender, gender-roles and gender issues doesn't seem to be of interest one way or the other.

 

Before the City came out, when we were doing the same sort of speculation on what it will have (like always!) I suggested that amongst other things, perhaps there could be an encounter card, space or whatever, that suggest a brothel. (I also suggested that maybe the City would allow characters to "own property" which could be used to store excess objects, or a place to rest and heal, etc.).

 

It was greeted with total dead silence. So apparently our heroes are so busy, they never have time for the opposite sex, at least for booty calls.

 

  < and this comment doesn't belong in the Rules Questions area >

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0