Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
nethog

Labyrinth of Ruin - Beastmaster - "Feral Frenzy" Question

48 posts in this topic

I am playing Labyrinth of Ruin and have a question about the Beastmaster's "Feral Frenzy" class card.

 

The card lists an action: "Exhaust this card to perform an attack. After resolving the attack, your Wolf may immediately perform an attack."

 

Then the card states "While this card is exhausted, each hero attacking a monster adjacent to you or your Wolf may add 1 green power die to his attack pool."

 

My question is, does the Beastmaster hero  who exhausted the card to trigger the action also get a green die to use on his initial attack? or only if he attacks again using his second action?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

He exhausts the card before he makes rolls dice for the first attack. He would.

 

Agreed, when a card tells you to exhaust it you will exaust the card after paying the cost (like fatigue) but before resolving anything else written on the card.

Edited by BentoSan

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
I see Unofficial_FAQ :
Q: Does the Wolf gain a green die for attacking a monster adjacent to itself when using Feral Frenzy? A: Yes, the wolf rolls an extra green die for Feral Frenzy when it attacks a monster adjacent to itself or the Beastmaster

 

Q: The Skye familiar states that an adjacent monster may be forced to reroll. If a monster occupies the same space as Skye is that still considered adjacent?

A: No

 

I think Feral Frenzy can't work that the wolf attacks adjacent to itself to gain a green dice .... 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I disagree with your conclusion. The wolf gets the dice because the monster is adjacent. Skye's ability does not trigger because the monster is NOT adjacent. A space is not adjacent to itself.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

If my beastmaster has 

  • Feral Frenzy - (2XP):(action):Exhaust this card to perform an attack. After resolving the attack, your Wolf may immediately perform an attack. While this card is exhausted, each hero attacking a monster adjacent to you or your Wolf may add 1 green die to his attack pool.(Cost 2 f)
  • Savagery - (2XP): Each time a hero performs an attack that targets a monster adjacent to your Wolf, he may add 1 additional green die to its attack pool. Each time your Wolf performs an attack that targets a monster adjacent to a hero figure, your wolf may add 1 additional green die to its attack pool. 

I make easy count as above :

 

when feral frenzy has exhausted , 

 

1.Any hero figure attack a monster adjacent Wolf , add 2 green dice 

 

2.Wolf attack a adjacent monster , add 2 green dice

 

3.Any hero figure attack a monster adjacent to the beastmaster , add 1 green dice 

 

Am I correct? 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
when feral frenzy has exhausted , 

 

1.Any hero figure attack a monster adjacent Wolf , add 2 green dice 

 

2.Wolf attack a adjacent monster , add 2 green dice

 

3.Any hero figure attack a monster adjacent to the beastmaster , add 1 green dice 

 

Am I correct? 

 

1. Yes.

2. The wolf would only get two additional green dice if the Beastmaster is adjacent to the same monster.

3. Yes.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Feral Frenzy - (2XP):(action):Exhaust this card to perform an attack. After resolving the attack, your Wolf may immediately perform an attack. While this card is exhausted, each hero attacking a monster adjacent to you or your Wolf may add 1 green die to his attack pool

 

I think this skill doesn't work in my case. 

 

I find Wolf just is treated as  figure, not hero figure. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

If my beastmaster has 

  • Feral Frenzy - (2XP):(action):Exhaust this card to perform an attack. After resolving the attack, your Wolf may immediately perform an attack. While this card is exhausted, each hero attacking a monster adjacent to you or your Wolf may add 1 green die to his attack pool.(Cost 2 f)
  • Savagery - (2XP): Each time a hero performs an attack that targets a monster adjacent to your Wolf, he may add 1 additional green die to its attack pool. Each time your Wolf performs an attack that targets a monster adjacent to a hero figure, your wolf may add 1 additional green die to its attack pool. 

I make easy count as above :

 

when feral frenzy has exhausted , 

 

1.Any hero figure attack a monster adjacent Wolf , add 2 green dice 

 

2.Wolf attack a adjacent monster , add 2 green dice

 

3.Any hero figure attack a monster adjacent to the beastmaster , add 1 green dice 

 

Am I correct? 

Nope

 

1/ only 1 Green dice can be added

2/ same thing as 1/

3/ Yes only if the monster is adjacent to the beastmaster also !

 

For 1 & 2 I add the answer from FFg should be somewhere on the forum (or BGG).. will try to find where! ;-)

 

Edit : Don't find where I have put the anwsers !!

  as  don't have much time now I will copy the answer :

 

Q: 1- about the Beastmaster skills and his wolf!

a- how is the skill Feral Frenzy Applied?

when the Wolf is performing his attack... if he is alone against a monster, does he count as a hero adjacent to his monster?

and so does he gain the extra green dice?

b- same question with Savagery!

when the Wolf performs his attack...

- if he his alone agains a monster how many extra dices will he have?

0, 1 or 2?

Indeed the Wolf his considered as a hero: so does he gain a dice because he his a hero doing an attack to a monstrer adjacent to the Wolf [himself] and another because he is the Wolf doing an attack to a monster adjacent to a hero [himself]?

- if he is with another hero (like Mok) adjacent to the monster how many extra dices will the Wolf have?

- if he is with the Reanimate?

- and lastly if he is with an Ally like Serena?

 

R:1a) Yes, both the Wolf and Beastmaster gain the additional green die.

 

1b) Savagery only give the Wolf a maximum of 1 additional die, no matter the circumstance.

 

Nathan Hajek

Creative Content Developer

Fantasy Flight Games

 

Found someone who asked the same question and had the same anwser : http://descent166.rssing.com/chan-5943174/all_p1683.html

(middle of the page)

Re-Edit : Sorry I misunderstood !

3/ Beware if Wolf and Beatmaster are near the same monster I don't think they are cumulative so 1/ and 3/ don't stack!

 

Edited by Felin

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

 

 


 

 

 

1b) Savagery only give the Wolf a maximum of 1 additional die, no matter the circumstance.

 

 

I don't find that bit very convincing. To me, it doesn't seem that the Savagery card limits the expansion of your attack pool to 1 green die. It would be quite exceptional if a skill card limits the boons you can get.

 

Edit: Also, the two green dice are the major way of expanding the wolfs attack pool in Act II. BRGG seems reasonable for a familiar with surge: pierce 1, especially in comparison to the reanimate who gets RBY

Edited by Ceasarsalad101

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

 

1b) Savagery only give the Wolf a maximum of 1 additional die, no matter the circumstance.

 

 

I don't find that bit very convincing. To me, it doesn't seem that the Savagery card limits the expansion of your attack pool to 1 green die. It would be quite exceptional if a skill card limits the boons you can get.

 

Edit: Also, the two green dice are the major way of expanding the wolfs attack pool in Act II. BRGG seems reasonable for a familiar with surge: pierce 1, especially in comparison to the reanimate who gets RBY

 

Convincing or not ..it's the answer from FFG, and by two different people : Nathan and Kara! ;-)

But till this makes to the FAQ ... even from FFG I agree it's unofficial!

but from my point of view even if it's not in the FAQ it's still the best answer we can have.

Now don't forget that with "Changing Skins" the wolf can get Surge: Pierce 2; SurgeSurge +5 Heart. .. something the reanimate can't have!

And there is also the "Shadow Hunter" 2 Red and 2 Green ... from my point of view not sure the Wolf is really needing this extra dice...

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Both those answers only talk about Savagery. He can not gain 2 green dice from savagery that is correct. However, Feral Frenzy is totally unrelated to Savagery. And can grant an additional die.

To me Charmy's answer is the correct one.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Both those answers only talk about Savagery. He can not gain 2 green dice from savagery that is correct. However, Feral Frenzy is totally unrelated to Savagery. And can grant an additional die.

To me Charmy's answer is the correct one.

 

I agree that with "Feral Frenzy" and "Savagery" the Wolf can have a total of 2 green dices max.

but the initial question stated 2 dices for each skill

 

 

 

1.Any hero figure attack a monster adjacent Wolf , add 2 green dice 

 

2.Wolf attack a adjacent monster , add 2 green dice

 

which is not correct... based on FFG answers.

Ok I understand !!

Sorry my mistake.. I don't know why I was thinking point 1/ was only for "Feral Frenzy" and point 2 for "Savage" !!

Again sorry ! :wacko: 

 

Edited by Felin

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Correct- I have asked this question in the past- the response is only about Savagery. Read LITERALLY, the wolf would always gain 2 greens from Savagery:

-The wolf is melee, and ALWAYS adjacent to his target (so his target is adjacent to him)

-The wolf is treated as a hero for hero abilities (including Savagery)

Therefore, every attack the wolf makes is both a hero (the wolf) attacking a monster adj to the wolf, and the wolf attacking a monster adj to a hero (the wolf). That would gain 2 greens if not for the FFG ruling above that those two parts of the card don't stack for the wolf. As a result, he'll gain a max of 1 from that card.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

But the wolf's text says : This familiar is treated as a figure. 

I don't think that it can gain 2 green from Savagery . 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

But the wolf's text says : This familiar is treated as a figure.

I don't think that it can gain 2 green from Savagery .

It does say that it is treated as a figure. However, if you look at the rulebook section about familiars treated as figures, you will see that they are treated as heroes for hero and monster abilities, for attacks, and for overlord cards targeting heroes (but not for anything else, like plot cards or quest rules.) This same definition has been applied to all things treated as heroes or as hero figures as stated in errata 1.6.

That is, since the wolf is a familiar treated as a figure, as far as "Savagery" is concerned, he is a hero.

Edited by Zaltyre
edcy likes this

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Take from basic rule P.18:

 

Some familiars, such as the Reanimate, are treated as figures (as indicated by its Familiar card). These familiars block line of sight and movement, but are considered friendly figures for hero movement. They may be targeted and affected by monster attacks, hero abilities, and Overlord cards that target a hero.

 

it means that a figure familiar can be targeted and affect as a hero , so it isn't  a hero figure ... 

I consider that this ability needs condition to active , but the familiar just "be targeted and affected" as a hero. 

I think they are a bite of different .

 

By the way , I think that 2XP skill  is too OP  to get 2 greens for wolf / 1 green for other hero almost without fatigue cost ....

 

Sorry , I already see errata 1.6. :D 

No problem . 

Edited by edcy

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
By the way , I think that 2XP skill  is too OP  to get 2 greens for wolf / 1 green for other hero almost without fatigue cost ....

 

Its not, OP, because in order to get 2 greens for the wolf you would need both Savagery and Feral Frenzy. This is because of the FFG errata ruling that Savagery can only give a maximum of 1 green die.

Edited by Charmy

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
I stand by my previous statement that rolling BRGG is fair for a familiar. Almost every class has that synergy of 2-3 very good cards. Don't forget that the wolf goes either offensively or defensively. At the cost of 7 xp, your wolf has 7 health rolls a grey and brown for defense if it is adjacent to another hero, and cannot be targeted by attacks if there are other legal targets. This means that the wolf is still a fairly easy target in Act II. 

 

We are having a playthrough with a necromancer whose reanimate kills everything it can reach with 3 movement. But I don't expect this monsterslaying undead to last very long in later quests. The Beastmaster has very good skills, but like any class it would only be OP if he had them all at once. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

While we speak about beastmaster skills I have a question about Staler ability.'

 

Immediately after declaring the target of your attack, you may move your Wolf 1 space. Additionally, a monster cannot declare your Wolf as the target of an attack if it could legally target a hero figure instead.

 

I wonder how it works with attacks that have multiple targets. Let's say Merriod can target only one hero and wolf. Is he allowed to use Flail to target both?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I believe he can, he targets the hero, then targets the wolf as his second target since the hero is already targetted.

I agree. However, if there were two heroes and the wolf standing around the merriod, pretty sure he would have to choose the two heroes, not the wolf.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0