Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
Catastrophic09

Vilya to bring a hero back?

7 posts in this topic

So I was playing Dunland Trap yesterday with Celeborn, Elrond and Mirlonde. Mirlonde died early on from an In Need of Rest. I got to stage 2B where I shuffled all my discarded cards back into my draw deck. Now.. I had Vilya on Elrond and was thinking: what would happen if Mirlonde was the revealed card, would I be able to put her back into play?

 

Simply, can Vilya put a hero back into play after they got shuffled back into your deck?? I would say yes since there is nothing limiting you from putting into play that hero card through Vilya's ability. And if this is so, that could be pretty powerful if you use Will of the West or The White Counsil to then use Vilya and revive a hero but of course there is still a lot of chance and it would be rare to actually pull this off.

 

Sorry if this has already been discussed, I couldn't find a previous answer though.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Sorry but no...

 

From Core Rules:

Note that hero cards that are defeated are placed in their owner’s discard pile. When resolving effects that move cards from a player’s discard pile to his hand or deck, hero cards in the discard pile are ignored, as hero cards cannot move to a player’s hand or deck.
richsabre likes this

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

So is there really any purpose for dead hero cards to go into the discard pile? I see no point.. and then you have to make an exception to certain card effects that deal with the discard pile. So is it just clumsy design or am I missing something? 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Mich is right though, that card could just as easily say "choose a defeated hero."   At present in the game state there has never been a reason that they *need* to go into the discard pile.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Well there is a way of a card getting into a player's discard pile while never been defeated. 

ffg_lost-and-alone-fos.jpg                              ffg_elder-nameless-thing-fos.jpg

 

In the foundations of stone, you might get a hero attached to a Nameless. I don't know what happens to the X - values of the Nameless, but after he is defeated you're hero is a goner as well.

Greetz

PS: I'll make a topic for this perticular case

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0