Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
JohnBoo

Sensor Jammer order of resolution

Recommended Posts

Hey there, Im relatively new to the game.  This came up in last night's game & I was wondering about resolution.

 

Step 3 of Attacking (modify attack dice)- the attacker rolls 2 hits and a focus. Who modifies first, the attacker (using his focus token) or the defender with sensor jammers (change one hit to a focus)?

 

Obviously this would favor either player to modify last.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

The rulebook outlines this is on page 12. The defender modifies attack dice first, and the attacker modifies defence dice first. Basically, whoever didn't roll the dice modifies them first.

 

So, in your example, the Sensor Jammer goes first, and then the attacker gets to spend his Focus token.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Attacker rolls, defender modifies, then attacker modifies. Page 11: "If the attacker and defender both have abilities that can modify attack dice, the defender resolves all of his abilities before the attacker."

In this instance(hit, hit, focus), it's not going to be much help to use Sensor Jammer if the attacker has a focus token. If he doesn't have a focus token but has a target lock, you would essentially rob him of a hit that he can't reroll.

Edit:   :ph34r: 'd

Edited by Parravon

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Attacker rolls, defender modifies, then attacker modifies. Page 11: "If the attacker and defender both have abilities that can modify attack dice, the defender resolves all of his abilities before the attacker."

In this instance(hit, hit, focus), it's not going to be much help to use Sensor Jammer if the attacker has a focus token. If he doesn't have a focus token but has a target lock, you would essentially rob him of a hit that he can't reroll.

Edit:   :ph34r: 'd

 

Isn't the reroll limit only that you can only reroll once? SJ only modifies a die, it doesn't reroll it, so a TL should be able to reroll the Focus from a SJ use.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Attacker rolls, defender modifies, then attacker modifies. Page 11: "If the attacker and defender both have abilities that can modify attack dice, the defender resolves all of his abilities before the attacker."

In this instance(hit, hit, focus), it's not going to be much help to use Sensor Jammer if the attacker has a focus token. If he doesn't have a focus token but has a target lock, you would essentially rob him of a hit that he can't reroll.

Edit:   :ph34r: 'd

 

Isn't the reroll limit only that you can only reroll once? SJ only modifies a die, it doesn't reroll it, so a TL should be able to reroll the Focus from a SJ use.

While you are correct you can reroll dice that have been modified, Sensor Jammer states that the attacker may not reroll the die it modified. :)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

 

 

Attacker rolls, defender modifies, then attacker modifies. Page 11: "If the attacker and defender both have abilities that can modify attack dice, the defender resolves all of his abilities before the attacker."

In this instance(hit, hit, focus), it's not going to be much help to use Sensor Jammer if the attacker has a focus token. If he doesn't have a focus token but has a target lock, you would essentially rob him of a hit that he can't reroll.

Edit:   :ph34r: 'd

 

Isn't the reroll limit only that you can only reroll once? SJ only modifies a die, it doesn't reroll it, so a TL should be able to reroll the Focus from a SJ use.

While you are correct you can reroll dice that have been modified, Sensor Jammer states that the attacker may not reroll the die it modified. :)

 

 

Ah, forgot about that. Thanks for the reminder.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I suppose I should point out that Sensor Jammer is a 'may' card. While most of the time it doesn't make sense to not change a hit to an eye, since it either reduces damage or causes them to lose a focus token, if they have something like Marksmanship, or it's a shuttle with FCS/Gunner, there are times when you would rather take that one hit. Just something I figured I'd mention.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...