Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
Targos

Rule Question: Trading items

8 posts in this topic

If an item is traded between players in a movement action, like say the sun stone in Labyrinth of Ruin, can you equip it as part of the trade?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

If an item is traded between players in a movement action, like say the sun stone in Labyrinth of Ruin, can you equip it as part of the trade?

 

The answer to this question can be found on page 15 of the base rules, under the section "Trading Items":

 

Heroes may give or receive Shop Item cards, Relic cards, and Search
cards to or from each other during a move action. At any point during
his move action, a hero may trade any number of Shop Item cards, Relic
cards, or Search cards with an adjacent hero. Trading does not require an
additional action or the expense of movement points.
 
A hero must still wait to equip any cards he receives until the start of
his next turn. Heroes cannot trade Class cards (including their starting
equipment) with each other. A hero may give another hero a card without
receiving one in return; likewise, a hero may receive a card without giving
one in return.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Hey now, FFG rules are precise, but sometimes a little heavy to catch everything. We all miss things.

 

Hell, I can read the actually rules, in the proper section, and STILL eff up and miss things (see an answer I posted to another question yesterday).  :D

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

If I use fatigue to gain 1 MP, it seems that I can't trade , am I correct ? 

And When a hero trade a item card  to another unactivate hero, can that hero equip immediately or he must wait to next round to equip ?

If immediately , It is possible for a item be used 4 times ... sounds very strange.( Mana Weave?)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Traded items are NOT equipped. They must be equipped by the hero who received them during step 2 of his turn (notably, AFTER his start of turn- so passing around elven boots to work for 4 heroes doesn't work.) 

 

However, the hero also would refresh that card during start of turn. So, 4 heroes can all exhaust the Mana Weave during the same round if they trade properly. 

 

Also, no, gaining a MP from fatigue is NOT performing a move action, so you cannot trade.

Funkfried and oddjob like this

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Like Zaltyre said, you can effectivly use an item 4 times in one round by passing it around. However keep in mind every hero has to spend one action as a movement-action to be able to trade, so in the end doing this does use up a lot of actions and therefore is in most cases a bad idea.

 

I did it once in my first campaign in the final quest where I was playing with 3 heroes and no healer and got the item that lets you recover one red die, but you have to spend an action. In the end I lost this quest and I think this "strategy" had it's fair share in that.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0