Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
kyrie

Timing question for combat in The Three Trials Stage 3B

6 posts in this topic

When you advance from stage 2B of "The Trial of Strength" in the middle of the combat phase directly to stage 3, do the Guardians now engaged with you (per forced effect of stage 3B) attack you? Similarly, are you allowed to attack them?

 

The question arose while playing today. I assumed that since you were in the middle of player attacks that the newly engaged enemies cannot attack. But I wasn't sure if you were allowed to attack them since technically you are still in the combat phase.

 

Anyone know the official ruling on things like this? How have you been playing it?

Ohnomycocoa likes this

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

If you defeat the guardian during your normal window to attack, then you go to the next stage of the quest and get a new guardian engaged with you.  Now YOU can attack IT.  It can't attack you, because enemy attack resolution has already been completed this round, before player attack resolution.  But you are still in the player attack resolution part of the combat phase, so swing away!

 

It's just from the core set manual.  When you advance to the next stage of a quest, nothing about the game state changes.  Just follow instructions on the quest cards and continue the round normally.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Just to add that if you reveal the key as a shadow card you will advance to the next stage in the enemy attack phase. In this scenario the three guardians would then get an attack I think as we are still in attack phase ? Anyway that's how I've played it.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Just to add that if you reveal the key as a shadow card you will advance to the next stage in the enemy attack phase. In this scenario the three guardians would then get an attack I think as we are still in attack phase ? Anyway that's how I've played it.

If a key is revealed as a shadow it is shuffled back into the encounter deck, not attached to a hero, so why would you advance to the next stage? Am I missing something?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0