Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
Ambrose

RULE QUESTION: Duel wielding weapons

5 posts in this topic

Greetings!

 

I just bought DJiD and think it is an amazing game.  I am trying to get familiar with the rules and have the following question;

 

On pg. 12 it states "  Only abilities on the chosen weapon may be used; if equipped with two weapons, abilities on the other weapon are ignored for the attack."

 

Does this mean any character can duel wield melee weapons?  So characters that start with a sword, and find/buy another sword can use both, and get the combined number of attacks from both against a single monster/target?  Seems like they will chew through pretty much anything.

 

Any clarification on this would be appreciated.  I think I am just reading the rules wrong.  :)

 

Thanks!

Ambrose

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

You can dual wield weapons sure, but whenever you make an attack, you only pick one of them to attack with. Wielding an extra weapon does not give you additional attacks. If you play a Skirmisher (shadow of nerekhall expansion) you can learn abilities to get extra attacks from dual wielding, but otherwise, the only purpose is to give you extra options for your attacks.

 

You do not get the dice or abilities of the weapon you do not attack with.

Edited by Whitewing

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

In addition, note that you can only wield 2-hands worth of weapons.  So in order to wield two weapons, both have to be one handed weapons.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Yup. As Whitewing and any2cards said, anybody can have 2 hands worth of weapons equipped. The skirmisher is a class that has skills actually related to dual-wielding melee weapons, just as the wildlander has "bow skills" and the knight has "shield skills." Unless you're the skirmisher, dual wielding gives you no special advantage other than versatility (see the Beastmaster's starting gear for a good example- want to attack heavy with reach, or perhaps you'd prefer the skinning knife to finish off a damaged target?) You must declare which weapon you're using at the beginning of each attack.

Edited by Zaltyre

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

That clarifies things a lot.  Thanks guys!  Looks like I will have to save up for that expansion to get real duel wielding!

 

Ambrose

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0