Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
Mndela

Turned Around

7 posts in this topic

This card:

 

Turned-Around.png

 

Can you chose? It has the word 'either' at first of the sentence....

 

In three trials, when the 3 guardians are in game: must you remove 1 time counter from each guardian, or can you chose one of them?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

i seem to remember cards worded like this being ruled that this wasnt a choice, it was either you must do this, or if you cannot, then you must do this

 

cant find a reference though. so id wait for confirmation or otherwise

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Yeah, I remember a big discussion but can't remember how it turned out.

 

If not intended as a choice, you could easily write this card and avoid use of the word "either."  "Remove 1 time counter blah blah.  If no time counter was removed, return the active location.. etc."  

 

Intentionally including the word "either," to me, makes it look like the designers intended this as a choice.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Here it is, in the FAQ:

 

(1.44) “Must X or Y” vs “must either X or Y”

If a card instructs a player to perform one task or
perform a second task using the structure “... must X or
Y...” then the player must attempt to perform the first
task, and performs the second task instead only if the
first task cannot be performed.
If a card instead uses the structure “... must either X or
Y...” then the player may choose which task to perform,
although one of them must be performed in full, if able.
--------------------------------------------------
 
The card "Turned Around" does not use the word "must," but it doesn't cause any problem here.  The FAQ makes it clear that the word "either" is the word that confers a choice, so you've got a choice in "Turned Around." 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Ok, thanks.

 

 

The another question is: if i chose the removing 1 time counter option, must i remove 1 of each enemy in play or only one (the one i chose)?

Edited by Mndela

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I also asked the question to Caleb a while back, he confirmed that "must" is not needed, grandspleen is correct.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0