Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
jimjim19681968

Sneak Attack and Gandalf

12 posts in this topic

I am playing a deck from blog Beorn's Path. It's great and will teach me heaps.

 

However, I was just presented with an opportunity that seemed to good to be true;

 

Playing Sneak Attack then Gandalf.

 

Surely this cannot ?

 

Can I play the sneak attack card for 1 resouce token in exchange for Gandalf, who can reduce my threat by 5 and kill a monster outright before retiring anyway?

 

And when he retires, does he go back to my hand (sneak attack) or to the discard pile?

 

If you can answer me this, I'll be seriously thankful.

 

JJ

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

yes, this is one of the most powerful combos in the game, and must loved by players :)

 

and yes, even better, he goes back to hand

Edited by richsabre

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Remember that when Gandalf enters play, he only does ONE of his special actions.  You cannot reduce threat and put 4 damage on an enemy.  He can still Quest, Defend or Attack depending on the phase.  Still a great combo!!  Cheers!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Sneak Attack text make him returning to your hand if it is still in play.

 

There are others few effects to return an ally to your hand, Born Aloft might be the only one working on Gandalf.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Remember also that he only lasts for the PHASE with Sneak Attack.  If you play him during the Quest Phase, he won't be around for Combat unless you have another Sneak Attack :)

PsychoRocka likes this

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

If you use Sneak attack for Gandalf in the Combat phase, can he be used for both defense and attack before returning to your hand?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
29 minutes ago, Randyman said:

If you use Sneak attack for Gandalf in the Combat phase, can he be used for both defense and attack before returning to your hand?

Not unless you have a means of readying Gandalf after he defends.

dr00 likes this

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I'm sorry, I worded that incorrectly -- I want to use Sneak Attack and bring him in to "deal 4 damage to one enemy in play" and then have him hang around to defend during the Combat phase as well.  Just wanted to make sure this was legal?  Also, is it OK to assign his automatic 4 damage to an emeny in the staging area?   Thanks

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Posted (edited)

1 hour ago, Randyman said:

I'm sorry, I worded that incorrectly -- I want to use Sneak Attack and bring him in to "deal 4 damage to one enemy in play" and then have him hang around to defend during the Combat phase as well.  Just wanted to make sure this was legal?  Also, is it OK to assign his automatic 4 damage to an emeny in the staging area?   Thanks

Only legal if you play Sneak Attack during the Combat phase. And yes, you can assign 4 damage to an enemy in the staging area, unless the enemy is immune to player card effects, or there is another card in play that prevents you from targeting or assigning enemies in the staging area.

EDIT: remember that if Gandalf dies while defending during a Sneak Attack, he will go to your discard pile and not back into your hand.

Edited by TwiceBornh
Clarification

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0