Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
Kcall07

Unopposed Bonus

5 posts in this topic

I'm new to the game and have a basic question about when the unopposed bonus is decided.

If all defenders are killed by the results of a successful military challenge is unopposed awarded? Or is it only unopposed if no defenders (or 0 STR) are declared initially?

Many thanks

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Unopposed power is awarded when the total strength of the defender is 0, so it requires that either no characters are present or at challenge resolution (which happens BEFORE killed characters are removed form play) that all defending characters have a combined strength of 0.

Its worth having a quick look  at the FAQ timing structures for the exact detail and process, but short answer is no, if the defending characters are killed for military claim the challenge was still opposed.
 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Thank you for the quick answer.

As an extension of this, does the same apply if a character is killed by a player action in one of the steps leading up to challenge resolution?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

As an extension of this, does the same apply if a character is killed by a player action in one of the steps leading up to challenge resolution?

 

No. The situations are different. Here is the (overly) detailed explanation.

 

As a quick, greatly simplified reference, challenges work as follows:

 

1. Attacking player announces who they are attacking, what type of challenge, and chooses/kneels attacking characters.

2. Starting with the First Player (not necessarily the attacking player...), players take turns triggering "Any Phase" and/or "Challenges" actions.

3. Attacking player assigns stealth targets, then defending player chooses/kneels defending characters.

4. Starting with the First Player (not necessarily the attacking player...), players take turns triggering "Any Phase" and/or "Challenges" actions.  

5. Challenge is resolved.

 

#5 there breaks down further like this:

5A. Determine winner by comparing attacking and defending STR. <-- All key questions about "unopposed" happen here.

5B. Settle claim effects (if attacker wins).

5C. Award unopposed (if applicable).

5D. Award Renown (if applicable).

5E. Resolve Deadly (if applicable).

5F. Passives to anything in 5A-5E.

5G. Responses to anything in 5A-5F.

 

The only thing that matters for "unopposed" is whether or not the defending player counts 0 STR in #5A. If they do, the attacker gets the power in #5C. If not, they don't. That's all that goes into determining unopposed. The number of participating defenders ends up not meaning anything for unopposed - only whether or not the defending player counts 0 STR in #5A.

 

So, in your original question, you were essentially asking if it matters for determining "unopposed" if all the defending characters die in #5B. The answer is, "No, it doesn't matter, because everything for unopposed has already been determined."

 

Your follow-up question essentially asks if it matters for determining "unopposed" if all the defending characters are killed in #2 and/or #4. The answer there is, "Yes, assuming nothing else happens to allow the defending player to count more than 0 STR in #5A."

 

 

So, that's a lot of information, but it hopefully gives you the framework by which all situations involving "unopposed" can be determined.

Edited by ktom

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

For unopposed to happen, the attacker must also win in 5A, which requires at least 1 STR (a tie with 0 STR on each side results in no winner for the challenge).

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0