Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
MikeTheRed

"Yoda, You Seek Yoda" if Yoda already in play

13 posts in this topic

Yoda, You Seek Yoda

Action: Increase the Death Star dial by 1 to search your deck for Yoda, and put him into play, if able. Shuffle your deck.

 

How does this Event resolve if there is a Yoda already in play?

 

Does the "found" Yoda from deck get shuffled back in or is it discarded?

Edited by MikeTheRed

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Following with the topic: what if canceled with Imperial Supression? Does the Dial increases even the Yoda is not "seeked"?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Following with the topic: what if canceled with Imperial Supression? Does the Dial increases even the Yoda is not "seeked"?

Not entirely sure but my guess is that yes, the dial still goes up because of it being part of the cost.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I dont think I understand this questions. I was under the impression that the unique Yoda units would swap.

 

So you have the "old" Yoda in play. You use the event to search out the "new" Yoda. Since you cannot have two copies of unique cards in play. I thought the "old" Yoda would go to the discard pile and the "new" Yoda would come into play (after you pay his cost)

 

The other flip side is, what if you play the event to search out Yoda but cannot pay his cost to play him. Would he go into the discard pile and then suffle your deck? I dont believe this even allows Yoda to be played for free (or put him in your hand). You must play him and pay his cost as well. Correct me if I misunderstood this.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

A unique card cannot enter play if a copy of it (by title) already is. Since "cannot" is absolute, the new Yoda does not replace the old (this is why Forgotten Heroes has you returning the unique first before putting its replacement into play).

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Understood.

Make sense.

 

However if there is no Forgotten Heros in play, what happens then? Do you simply pay to shuffle your deck?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Whether Forgotten Heroes is in play or not, if Yoda cannot enter play, you effectively pay to shuffle your deck.

 

Forgotten Heroes has an action that lets you swap a unique unit in your hand with a unique unit in play with the same name. To avoid problems with the rule about uniques, it makes you first reveal the card in your hand, then return the card in play to your hand, and last put the card in your hand into play.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Thanks.

 

Also to clarify the event "Yoda You Seek Yoda", you search for Yoda in your deck and then must pay to play him.

 

What happens if you fetch him and then cannot pay for him. Does he go back into your command deck or in the discard pile?

 

I dont think this would happen in a match but still wanted to ask.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Thanks.

 

Also to clarify the event "Yoda You Seek Yoda", you search for Yoda in your deck and then must pay to play him.

 

What happens if you fetch him and then cannot pay for him. Does he go back into your command deck or in the discard pile?

 

I dont think this would happen in a match but still wanted to ask.

 

If a card says put into play you do not pay the resource cost for the unit. 

Kevin Keeler and GroggyGolem like this

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Whether Forgotten Heroes is in play or not, if Yoda cannot enter play, you effectively pay to shuffle your deck.

 

Forgotten Heroes has an action that lets you swap a unique unit in your hand with a unique unit in play with the same name. To avoid problems with the rule about uniques, it makes you first reveal the card in your hand, then return the card in play to your hand, and last put the card in your hand into play.

I believe you are thinking of Heroes & Legends.

 

Forgotten Heroes is the Core Set Pod with Obi-Wan Kenobi.

Edited by GroggyGolem

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0