Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
Enfeathered

Question regarding Rylan's "Influence"

12 posts in this topic

Hiya!

 

I have a question regarding the "Influence" ability of the Rylan Olliven lieutenant/agent. The wording reads:

 

Choose 1 figure adjacent to Rylan Olliven. That figure immediately performs one action of the controlling player's choice. Limit once per round.

 

Now I interpet this as Rylan basically being able to trade one of his actions to another adjacent figure, most likely to another monster.
 
The other interpretation that my gaming group made is that it basically works like dark charm and it gives you the ability to control an adjacent figure, I don't think this matches up with the wording, but it matches up more with the "style" of the character since Rylan is supposed to be a "corrupting politican" character, IIRC his plot deck is even called corrupting influence.
 
So, if anyone have any thoughts on how this works that would be nice.
Edited by Enfeathered

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

No, rylan gives an action to a figure, and the controlers figure then choose what to do.

 

For exemple, if Rylan gives an action to a hero, that hero may do the action he chooses

 

if Rylan gives an action to a monster, this monster may do the action he wants (an attack, a sweep, whatever the overlord chooses)

 

Why wording like this ? Simple. Because in some quests in Nerekhall, Rylan is under the control of the heroes

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

No, rylan gives an action to a figure, and the controlers figure then choose what to do.

 

For exemple, if Rylan gives an action to a hero, that hero may do the action he chooses

 

if Rylan gives an action to a monster, this monster may do the action he wants (an attack, a sweep, whatever the overlord chooses)

 

Why wording like this ? Simple. Because in some quests in Nerekhall, Rylan is under the control of the heroes

 

 

Right, but it still can't be used to grant a monster an extra attack unlike Frenzy can it?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

As I said, yes, you can.

 

You can have extra action, or do another sweep with giants, or any action possible in fact

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Right, but it still can't be used to grant a monster an extra attack unlike Frenzy can it?

 

You can have extra action, or do another sweep with giants, or any action possible in fact

 

Here's the reasoning: The rule you're thinking of where Monsters can only attack once is limited to "once during its activation" (See p. 11 of the core rulebook). Since this attack is happening on a different activation (Rylan's), it is no longer limited by this restriction.

Dommus likes this

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

If Rylan allows another monster to attack then does he forfeit his combat for that turn ?

 

am thinking not, but i am interested in hearing what you guys think.

The reason why i think he is not because its not Rylan himself is not using a combat action.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

No, he doesn't. Influence is really a cool skill, and a good agent. A good point since most of them are not powerfull enough to rely on

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

It's an old thread I know, but I have another question about Rylan and his ability.

It's quite ofthen that Rylan acts on the side of the heroes. How does influence work with Rest action?

 Would it actually restore stamina to that hero at the end of Rylan's turn?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

as rules are written, It would be at the end of the that hero activation. And since it activates outside of his turn, just after that action is finished

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

as rules are written, It would be at the end of the that hero activation. And since it activates outside of his turn, just after that action is finished

I agree that the fatigue would be restored at the end of the hero's activation and not Rylan's. However, I do not agree that influence causes the hero to activate. There is a precedent for actions being performed without any activation:

Dark Charm

Blood Rage

Syndrael's hroic feat

I am of the opinion the hero still would not recover fatigue until the end of his next turn.

Edited by Zaltyre

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I was thinking of the same idea, but when I not so sure if Rylan will give only an action outside of the figure's turn of if this action gives some sort of turn of activation.

 

Since It will not trigger again poison for example, I would say at the end of the hero's turn too, but I'm fully sure.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0