Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
metalizm

New questions about Ashcan Pete, flying monsters, and Chthonians...

7 posts in this topic

Hello, everyone!  :) 

So, here are several new questions:
1) Does Ashcan Pete's special ability involve Exhibit items? It is not specified on his sheet (I know that Exhibit item deck was introduced in the Pharaoh expansion, while Pete is from the base game). But what's the official ruling for this issue?
2) Can flying monsters move twice during a Mythos phase with a gate burst (first time when burst is resolved and second time in a monster movement part of Mythos)?
3) If monsters are instructed to move along white or black pass due to some game effect, how green bordered monsters, e.g. hound or chthonian, would move?

Any feedback would be greatly appreciated!  ;)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Hi Metalizm,

 

and welcome to the Carnival!

 

As for your questions:

 

1. Ashcan's ability doesn't involve Exhibit Items. There's no official ruling on this, but the wording on the card is clear and sound, and I think if they had the intention of having his ability working with Exhibit items, considering how old is the expansion, this would have been covered in one of the many FAQs.

 

2. Nope, Flyers move only once. If their dimensional symbol appears in the movement box and the Mythos is a gate burst, they still move only once. The reason is that Flying monsters move not when the gate burst is resolved (step 1 of Mythos resolution) but during monster movement (step 3): hence, the sentence "whenever a gate burst is drawn, all flying
monsters move, regardless of their dimensional symbol" in the DH rules implies that Flyers have their dimensional symbol disregarded and move anyway. Please for Gate bursts consider looking at this thread and read the great analysis of ColtsFan

 

3. Depends on the effect. For instance, the Dark Druid states monsters move regardless of their normal movement pattern. If you don't mind bringing up an example for your question, I could give you a much more detailed answer

 

Hope this helps!

 

JULIA

metalizm and The Professor like this

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Any feedback would be greatly appreciated!  ;)

Hello there, Metalizm. Welcome to the Arkham Horror forums! Unfortunately, the avatar you have chosen is already used by one of this forum's more active members (the Professor), which makes your posts look an awful lot like his when I can't be bothered to read the poster's name. I'm afraid you'll have to change it.

What? He said "any feedback" would be welcome.

What?!

Julia likes this

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

LOL since you're new to the forums I'll point out that it's OK if you keep that avatar. Fish people that we are here on the forums, we're not incapable of reading usernames.

Edited by Tibs
Pseudonym and Steve-O like this

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Steve-O,

 

     Thanks for having my back...or my avatar's back...if avatar's even have a back...anyway, thanks!

 

metalizm,

 

     Welcome to the Carnival?  I happened to see your posted questions at BGG, but as mccrispy managed to shut down furthre discussion :lol: I'm glad that you posted here, as well.  Julia's responses are spot-on and you take that to the bank...the Bank of Arkham, that is.

 

Cheers,

Joe

Julia likes this

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Thanx for answers!

I've been playing Arkham Horror for 2 or 3 years, but some questions still occur.

For example, here's the new one:

 

Are corruptions discarded, when an investigator is devoured? Or do they stay, like gate and monster trophies?

 

Thanks for your answers in advance!  ;)

Julia likes this

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Corruptions are indeed discarded upon devourings. It's not clearly stated in the rules, but rules define clearly the things you carry over to your next character in case the previous one's devoured. If they wanted some special rule to be applied for corruptions, it'd have been included in the rules (as they did with Relationship cards, for instance)

The Professor and metalizm like this

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0