Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
IXIMrPinkIXI

Cancelling trigger effects

3 posts in this topic

When you play an effect that targets a character or location do you have to target the character or location before your opponent gets the chance to cancel?

For example

I bring a black cells out of shadows, do I have to announce the character I want to target first, then my opponent chooses to cancel. Or does my opponent have to cancel it first before I choose?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

When you play an effect that targets a character or location do you have to target the character or location before your opponent gets the chance to cancel?

For example

I bring a black cells out of shadows, do I have to announce the character I want to target first, then my opponent chooses to cancel. Or does my opponent have to cancel it first before I choose?

 

Yep.  Choosing applicable targets for an effect is done before the Save/Cancel response step.

Devon Greatwolf likes this

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

You have to choose first.

A cancel interrupts the initiation and resolution of an effect. The initiation is complete and done before the cancel can be played (that's why canceling doesn't "refund" any costs that are paid). Choosing targets is part of initiation, and so must be done before any cancels can be played.

Devon Greatwolf likes this

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0