Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
thordred

assault vs op fire

Recommended Posts

Scenerio:

A unit composed of elite American troops are assaulting a hex containing a machine gun crew in op fire mode. 

Question:

Does the machine gun crew get a chance to fire before the assault begins or is assault not really considered movement, the action required for the op fire trigger to occur?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Hefsgaard said:

The machinegun only gets to fire in Op-fire, if actual movement occurs. If the assaulting unit starts adjancent to the target hex, there will usualy be no movement.

But, if your squad is adjacent to the enemy terrain and left a vehicle, trenche or pillbox to make a assault, he can be attacked by OpFire.
And the Machine Gun in OpFire (or other unit in OpFire) can defend agains the assault, as other squad.

BuddhaBob74 said:
Additionally, an advance AFTER an assault (taking the free ground) is also not subject to Op Fire. Base rulebook pg. 34, part 9 of resolving an Assault.

It is right. During a Assault, OpFire units can not attack units that retreat after being assaulted nor units that advancing to a terrain that was empty after a successful assault.

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

The assault rules for TOI are silly and flawed. I look forward to the day when FFG publishes 2nd Edition TOI rules.  was hoping to see something like that with FotB, but unfortunately not. Thankfully, other publishers are advancing the art of playable, realistic WW2 squad level  gaming. TOI could be so much more if only FFG would take it seriously.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Latro said:

 

Axis & Allies Miniatures?

 

angel.gif

 

 

 

enfadado.gifenfadado.gifenfadado.gif

Maybe it is improved slightly now, but version one was hopeless. ( I found out when I found the crazy super cheap superman german infanteri)

 

Back to the topic of Assults in ToI: just add a flamethrower into the mix: first move your flametrower next the defensive line and do a move and fire action. Kill one hex. Then assult another hex with a regular infatneri supporting with a flamethrower, (and add its spezial ability) and repeat. Walla, you just used one flamethrower for three assults.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...