Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
kyrie

Hills of Dunland: Does travel effect trigger in the staging area?

Recommended Posts

Hills of Dunland, a new location from The Dunland Trap, reads:

 

While Hills of Dunland is in the staging area, it gains: "Forced: After a player draws any number of cards, discard the top card of the encounter deck. If the discarded card is a Dunland enemy, put it into play engaged with that player. This ability does not stack with other copies of Hills of Dunland."

 

Travel: Each player draws a card to travel here.

_______

 

The question arose while playing is does its Forced Effect trigger when you travel there? Is this location considered to still be in the staging area, or is it "in between" the staging area and the active location? The way we played it was that it was still in the staging area when you draw a card from its travel effect, so each player had to discard the top of the encounter deck. This seems to be what was intended.

 

What do you all think?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Hills of Dunland, a new location from The Dunland Trap, reads:

 

While Hills of Dunland is in the staging area, it gains: "Forced: After a player draws any number of cards, discard the top card of the encounter deck. If the discarded card is a Dunland enemy, put it into play engaged with that player. This ability does not stack with other copies of Hills of Dunland."

 

Travel: Each player draws a card to travel here.

_______

 

The question arose while playing is does its Forced Effect trigger when you travel there? Is this location considered to still be in the staging area, or is it "in between" the staging area and the active location? The way we played it was that it was still in the staging area when you draw a card from its travel effect, so each player had to discard the top of the encounter deck. This seems to be what was intended.

 

What do you all think?

Yeah that appears to be what should happen; to travel you must draw a card so for it to go from staging to the current location you must draw a card. Whilst drawing that card however I assume its still in staging so its other effect will trigger forcing each player to discard the top card of the encounter deck and put it into play engaged with him if it is an enemy. This makes it a very difficult location to deal with! You have to travel there or its effect will trigger every turn... and even traveling there ensures it will trigger at least that one time! Nasty!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

We had the same problem with secluded farmhouse, and we come up with the same answer, the cost is paid beforehand.

Best way to deal with it : Strider's Path or Thror's Map.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

When a location has a Travel cost, the players must pay that cost before they can travel to that location. So, Hills of Dunland is in the staging area when you trigger its Travel effect, which means you will also trigger its Forced effect when you do.
Hope you’re enjoying The Dunland Trap!
Cheers,
Caleb

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

Just to eliminate all speculation on the matter :)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...