Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
Grimwalker

Khal Daenerys

12 posts in this topic

I am first player. I attack with new Dany who has Deadly from Khal. I choose an opponent's character to die, and they in turn kneel that character and another character to oppose.

What is the timing priority for the two kill effects? Does Deadly go off first because it's a keyword? Is Dany's kill effect considered a passive at this step? Can the defender sacrifice the targeted character to Deadly and avoid having to lose two, or as first player can I choose Dany's effect to hit first, making that character moribund and thus unable to be chosen for Deadly?

Edited by Grimwalker

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

You are correct that if Deadly is first, the defender can choose the character targeted by Dany and avoid losing both. If the lasting effect from Dany goes first, they cannot. So the first players choice of order matters a lot here.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Indeed. So are they both Passives, in so many words?

 

Yup.  Deadly is resolved as a passive effect as well as any lasting effect that is initiated off of resolving the challenge.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

But how would that scenario matter?   either way, the character died.   I'm curious, in what scenario it would make a difference that would bring up the question?

Edited by Slothgodfather

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

The scenario Grimwalker mentioned: defending the Deadly challenge with 2 characters, one of which was "touched by Dany." Depending on the order, you could lose just the one, or you could lose both.

 

The situation could come up fairly often if Dany has Deadly and marks "awesome character," I would probably choose to defend with awesome character and chump - in hopes of winning the challenge and trading the death of chump for awesome character. If Dany's controller then mucks around with challenge resolution and I end up losing. In that situation, depending on who FP is, there is at least a chance of keeping the chump.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

The scenario Grimwalker mentioned: defending the Deadly challenge with 2 characters, one of which was "touched by Dany." Depending on the order, you could lose just the one, or you could lose both.

 

The situation could come up fairly often if Dany has Deadly and marks "awesome character," I would probably choose to defend with awesome character and chump - in hopes of winning the challenge and trading the death of chump for awesome character. If Dany's controller then mucks around with challenge resolution and I end up losing. In that situation, depending on who FP is, there is at least a chance of keeping the chump.

 

That's more or less exactly what happened. He overcommitted with two defenders, I burned him with some non-terminal stuff, enough to ensure I still won, and I didn't want to let his 4-cost unique go Deadly-Moribund before Daenerys' ability landed. If the big guy is Dany-Moribund, then the other character has to be sacrificed to Deadly, and that's the way I wanted it to be. 

 

My opponent had two objections: He wasn't convinced Dany's effect would resolve in the Passive step (since it was created by a Response) and he was under the impression that even if it were, that keywords resolved before other passives.

Edited by Grimwalker

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

My opponent had two objections: He wasn't convinced Dany's effect would resolve in the Passive step (since it was created by a Response) and he was under the impression that even if it were, that keywords resolved before other passives.

 

And just to say it again (I'm a very repetitive type of guy), Dany's Response creates a lasting effect that initiates and kills the character if the attacker wins the challenge -- whether anyone wants it to or not. That means the lasting effect has a passive initiation, just like the keywords. Additionally, there is no set preference for passive effects in the rules other than "when revealed" plot effects before any other passive effects. Keywords do not get "primacy" over other card effects. That's why the First Player gets to choose the order between Deadly and Frey Hospitality, for example.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0