Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
payback 113

Pulling a Consolidate Power order?

10 posts in this topic

So this came up in a recent game of mine.  Does a player have to gain power from a placed consolidate power order, or can they just pull the order and forgo any power gain?  

 

It might be useful for the Arryn to set up for Lysa's ability. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Payback,

Welcome to the forum!

You'll have to provide a bit more context, because I can't think of a logical reason why one would not garner additional Power Tokens given their value in the game.

Cheers,

Joe

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I feel as though it would be foolish to not take the power tokens, just so that the next turn you may get the chance to gain three (a net of plus one).  Assuming you are playing the Feast for Crows expansion, you are giving up a victory point for that turn as well (unless you would have only been tied with the person you plan to fight).  It is a big risk, because if a Clash of Kings or Wildings Attack comes up you will have put yourself in a slightly worse position than what you would have been.

 

With that said, I do not see any reason why you could not pull the order just as you may with raid or march orders.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I'll admit my original example was a poor one.  Here is a more realistic situation.  Baratheon player has 10 power and a consolidate in kingswood.  He request the Arryn player (11 power, no consolidates) support in crackclaw against Lannister.  As "payment" Baratheon will pull the kingswood consolidate at the end of the turn allowing Arryn to score a victory point.  win-win situation for both houses.

 

I can't find any specific mention in the rules for or against pulling a consolidate, but I thank you for your input. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Payback,

Once played, I believe you can't simply pull it from the board...house rules will override the intent of the rules, but suffice it to say you MUST collect Power tokens associated with the marker any more just as you can't choose not to March after the situation on the board has changed and may no longer be in your favor. If you've placed a March tokat my table...you're marching!

Cheers,

Joe

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

You are NOT required to move units with a March Order.

 

Rulebook, Page 15 --

 

A player may move all, some, or none of his units from the
area assigned the March Order.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Page 16 of the rulebook is vague on this issue.  It simply says:

 

"3. Resolve Consolidate Power Orders
 
Removing/Resolving Orders
Whether an Order token is resolved normally or removed from the game board by other means, it is simply returned to its House’s available orders, ready for use during the next Planning Phase."
 
Players may decide not to resolve Raid Order tokens, or March Order tokens, simply by removing them once it is their turn, but there is no indication either way if this is allowed for CP Orders.
Based on the previous precedent, since all orders are resolved in IT order, one at a time (though in practice, this seldom actually occurs, players just tend to simultaneously announce "2 PT's + Muster" for example, in actual game play; I would say that a player is allowed to remove a CP order token, rather than resolve it normally.
 
Of course, there may come an official FFG ruling that contradicts me, similar to to the situation where in DWDW the Reference card states that Ships in Ports generate a PT in the situation where the with DWDW, if the Raven player decides that DWDW will generate PT's in identical fashion to the GoT Westeros Card, gives a PT for an unblockaded Ship in Port - but then FFG decided that they don't - contradicting their own Reference sheet provided with the game.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

The rule book seemed open to interpritation, so I went to the source.  Here's the official response:

 

Consider it optional to take the power tokens. So yes, it is possible to resolve a consolidate power order token without taking any power tokens. It would still be considered “resolved”, but you just chose to not take any power tokens.
 
Jason Walden
Game Producer
Fantasy Flight Games

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0