Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
Alarmed

Oath of honor and choice of monster

28 posts in this topic

I tried searching here and I wasn't able to find anything about my particular question that came up during our last Session, playing Gryvorn Unleashed.

 

The knight's skill Oath of honour says:

Choose another hero within 3 spaces of you who has a monster adjacent to him. Place your hero figure in the closest empty space adjacent to the monster and perform an attack witha  melee weapon against that monster.

 

I've seen that you can move through monsters, but not through obstacles like doors but what happens if the hero within 3 spaces has more than one monster adjacent to him? DOes the activating hero (the Knight) choose which monster is his "target" and move to the closest adjacent space to that monster or does he move to the closest adjacent space to the closest monster?

 

Here's a quick sketch of the map:

123456K    our knight in the blue row

123H56W     is within 3 spaces of a hero in the green row

12BM56W   who is adjacent to two monsters in the red row

123456W  The space closest to monster M is Green 6 but the space closest to monster B is Black 4

 

Can the knight move to Black 4 and stop monster M from moving to an exit?

 

 

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

The skill is conditioned by a monster adjacent to a hero, when that hero is within 3 spaces of the knight. Whether or not there are other monsters adjacent to that hero is irrelevant, just like if other monsters were adjacent to other heroes in range would be irrelevant.

 

Is monster M adjacent to hero H? Is hero H within 3 spaces of the knight?

If the answers to both of these questions are yes, you can move into the closest space adjacent to that monster using the Oath of Honor ability.

 

At least, that would be my reading of it- you choose what monster you are "targeting" with the ability.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I agree that the Knight's player chooses which adjacent monster is to be involved. Although you aren't "targeting" anything, you still need to identify the hero and the monster adjacent to that hero which are meeting the triggering condition for the ability.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

That was my read on it too, but since the Targeted Monster was Belthir and the knight's action would prevent him from moving, there was some discussion whether it was allowed or not. 

 

Thanks for your responses, guys!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

That was my read on it too, but since the Targeted Monster was Belthir and the knight's action would prevent him from moving, there was some discussion whether it was allowed or not. 

 

Thanks for your responses, guys!

Could you clarify what you mean about the Knight's action preventing Belthir from moving?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

 

That was my read on it too, but since the Targeted Monster was Belthir and the knight's action would prevent him from moving, there was some discussion whether it was allowed or not. 

 

Thanks for your responses, guys!

Could you clarify what you mean about the Knight's action preventing Belthir from moving?

 

One word: Guard

Also, the Dawnblade

Also Belthir had already been hit by the hero who triggered the knight's Oath of Honor ability.

 

So Belthir moves into a space adjacent to the Knight, the knight spends two fatigue and attacks, interupting Belthir's movement, and.... *sad panda music* no more Belthir.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Sorry, I'm still a little confused. If by "preventing Belthir from moving" you mean "killing him" that's one thing. However, I'm a bit confused about the sequence of events- I thought we were talking about "Oath of Honor," not "Guard." How could you have used both skills at the same time, as one is used during your turn, and the other is triggered when a monster moves?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Sorry, I'm still a little confused. If by "preventing Belthir from moving" you mean "killing him" that's one thing. However, I'm a bit confused about the sequence of events- I thought we were talking about "Oath of Honor," not "Guard." How could you have used both skills at the same time, as one is used during your turn, and the other is triggered when a monster moves?

In Gryvorn Unleashed, the first quest is for the ritual materials to boost Gryvorn in the 2nd act of the Finale.

The OL gets Lieutenants according to his victories in Act II and any "lost" lieutenants are replaced by monster groups.

 

The first objective token is placed in an area hard for any of the overlord's minions to reach, the second is placed in a room, behind a door within easy reach of two lieutenants (or one or two groups if the lieutenants were lost). The third token is with Splig, in a room with a door, not within easy reach of the heroes.

 

Our OL had Splig, Belthir and one open monster group.

We maneuvered, despite the OL's precautions to prevent us from swarming his minions, and placed Leoric adjacent to Belthir and the Master monster of the open group that blocked the passage to Objective token 2. Leoric used his heroic feat to attack both of them, using Runic sorcery to impose the Immobilized condition. We made sure the knight was within 3 squares of Leoric.

 

On the OL's turn, he can't move Belthir or his master monster as they are immobilized, so he attacks with them, and moves the one other monster he has left. He uses Splig to pick up Objective Token 3.

 

On the heroe's 2nd turn... the situation I listed in the OP occured. The knight used oath of honor to move and attack Belthir, making him very low on Health.

 

ON the OL's turn, he can move Belthir towards Obejctive 2 and risk the Knight's guard, or move him away.

*Cue Monty Python's King Arthur 'run away, run away!'*

 

Without Oath of Honor, our Knight would not have been able to get between Belthir and Objective Token 2

:P

Edited by Alarmed

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Thanks, that clears it up- I somehow got the impression that you were using "Guard" and "Oath of Honor" at the same time, and that didn't sound right. However, I understand now, and stick by my earlier statement that yes, you could have absolutely used "Oath of Honor" as you did.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I'm in agreement with everyone here, but I will also concede that it's a little vague and might be a good question to pose to FFG for a more official ruling.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I'm in agreement with everyone here, but I will also concede that it's a little vague and might be a good question to pose to FFG for a more official ruling.

Done!

This is what I sent in:

 

My question is about the Knight skill Oath of Honor.

The skill allows the knight to move to the aid of an ally within 3 squares who has a monster adjacent to him. But what if the ally has more than one monster adjacent? Does the knight move to the closest space adjacent to the closest monster adjacent to the ally or can he chose the monster, then move to the closest space adjacent to that monster?

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

 

I'm in agreement with everyone here, but I will also concede that it's a little vague and might be a good question to pose to FFG for a more official ruling.

Done!

This is what I sent in:

 

My question is about the Knight skill Oath of Honor.

The skill allows the knight to move to the aid of an ally within 3 squares who has a monster adjacent to him. But what if the ally has more than one monster adjacent? Does the knight move to the closest space adjacent to the closest monster adjacent to the ally or can he chose the monster, then move to the closest space adjacent to that monster?

 

 

 

I would be very surprised if the answer from FFG was anything but it is the hero's choice as to which space to which they decide to move.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

 

 

I'm in agreement with everyone here, but I will also concede that it's a little vague and might be a good question to pose to FFG for a more official ruling.

Done!

This is what I sent in:

 

My question is about the Knight skill Oath of Honor.

The skill allows the knight to move to the aid of an ally within 3 squares who has a monster adjacent to him. But what if the ally has more than one monster adjacent? Does the knight move to the closest space adjacent to the closest monster adjacent to the ally or can he chose the monster, then move to the closest space adjacent to that monster?

 

 

 

I would be very surprised if the answer from FFG was anything but it is the hero's choice as to which space to which they decide to move.

 

that was the answer, but I cannot post the actual answer from where I am.

I will post it here later tonight or tomorrow.

 

Nathan's reply included quite a few nice little examples...

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Nathan sez:

 
Oath of Honor states, “Place your hero figure in the closest empty space adjacent to the monster…” Because it states “the monster”, this is saying that the monster mentioned in the first sentence should also be chosen when the hero is chosen. The space the knight is placed in is the space adjacent to the monster and closest to the space he declared the action from.
 
Please consider the following examples:
 
K = Knight
H = Target Hero
M = A monster
Red M = “the monster”
X = Where the knight can be placed
 
I had to delete the examples he included as they did not post well.
Edited by Alarmed

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Don't want to create another thread, so I'll ask here.

1. When knight uses his Oath of honor, is it must that hero and/or monster were in knight's line of sight?

2. What if there is no free adjacent spaces to the monster?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Don't want to create another thread, so I'll ask here.

1. When knight uses his Oath of honor, is it must that hero and/or monster were in knight's line of sight?

2. What if there is no free adjacent spaces to the monster?

http://community.fantasyflightgames.com/index.php?/topic/83225-knight-oath-of-honor-teleportation/

 

Above is a thread staing that the Knight can use his ability to move through monsters. Also, on the card, nothing is stated about the monster being in LOS, just being within range- so that's the only requirement. As with any ability that's not stated otherwise, the figure gets placed in the closest available empty space.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

http://community.fantasyflightgames.com/index.php?/topic/83225-knight-oath-of-honor-teleportation/

 

Above is a thread staing that the Knight can use his ability to move through monsters. Also, on the card, nothing is stated about the monster being in LOS, just being within range- so that's the only requirement. As with any ability that's not stated otherwise, the figure gets placed in the closest available empty space.

So, for instance, you mean that Knight can leap over closed doors, walls, etc?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

 

http://community.fantasyflightgames.com/index.php?/topic/83225-knight-oath-of-honor-teleportation/

 

Above is a thread staing that the Knight can use his ability to move through monsters. Also, on the card, nothing is stated about the monster being in LOS, just being within range- so that's the only requirement. As with any ability that's not stated otherwise, the figure gets placed in the closest available empty space.

So, for instance, you mean that Knight can leap over closed doors, walls, etc?

 

 

No, they cannot. It needs to be within 3 spaces, but closed doors and walls prevent the spaces from being adjacent.

Zaltyre likes this

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

No, they cannot. It needs to be within 3 spaces, but closed doors and walls prevent the spaces from being adjacent.

Well, it seems that it's time to reread the rulebook. Again.

So, in this case

-K---

WW---

H----

M----

it'll work?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

 

No, they cannot. It needs to be within 3 spaces, but closed doors and walls prevent the spaces from being adjacent.

Well, it seems that it's time to reread the rulebook. Again.

So, in this case

-K---

WW---

H----

M----

it'll work?

 

Through monsters is fine. Through doors/walls is not, as closed doors prevent counting of spaces. Black walls are completely impassible by any means.

Edited by Zaltyre

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

No, they cannot. It needs to be within 3 spaces, but closed doors and walls prevent the spaces from being adjacent.

Well, it seems that it's time to reread the rulebook. Again.

So, in this case

-K---

WW---

H----

M----

it'll work?

Through monsters is fine. Through doors/walls is not, as closed doors prevent counting of spaces. Black walls are completely impassible by any means.

Yeah, I got that.

All you need is to be within 3 spaces. But when you count your distance on the field it won't be necessarily a straight line and, like in my example above, you can go round the wall, yes?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Yeah, I got that.

All you need is to be within 3 spaces. But when you count your distance on the field it won't be necessarily a straight line and, like in my example above, you can go round the wall, yes?

 

http://imgur.com/FuJixxx

 

I want to be clear, so I made an image. Referring to the link:

 

Assume the knight is the blue objective token, and the red objective tokens are other heroes. The monsters are monsters.

 

A) The knight can use Oath of Honor to go to either of the spaces marked with an X. The two spaces below the flesh moulder might also be valid destinations, but I'm not sure (I'm leaning toward yes, but didn't want to put it in the picture.) Outside input welcome.

 

B) The hero is still 3 spaces from the knight. The knight could move to the same spaces with Oath of Honor.

 

C) The knight could move to either of the spaces marked with an X.

Edited by Zaltyre

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

B) The knight cannot use Oath of Honor. He is 4 spaces away from the flesh moulder because he can't count through the wall.

But text on card tells that we should choose another HERO within 3 spaces of knight, not monster. So it would also work, I suppose.

Thanks anyway.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

 

B) The knight cannot use Oath of Honor. He is 4 spaces away from the flesh moulder because he can't count through the wall.

But text on card tells that we should choose another HERO within 3 spaces of knight, not monster. So it would also work, I suppose.

Thanks anyway.

 

Oh wow, I'm making mistakes left and right here. At least I got the point about counting spaces and walls across.  I've edited my original post.

Edited by Zaltyre

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

You can actually go to the 2 spots below the flesh moulder as well because they are also tied for "closest empty adjacent space" at 4 spaces from your current location (or 5 spaces in example B, but both scenarios are valid). It's just like when you calculate range and you count the least amount of spaces to get to the target (while still keeping line of sight). Oath of honor is pretty rad...

In example C, if the blue token was 3 spaces more north it could STILL make it to the 2 X spots, due to diagonals being adjacent.

Preeeetty..... rad...

 

Here's where it finally breaks though: If in example A or B it was a 4 square monster or 6 square monster, THEN the only spot you could go would be to the left of the 2 red heroes, because below the huge or massive monster would be counting 1 or 2 more spaces and would not qualify for "closest empty adjacent space."

Still rad enough though...

Edited by Carbini

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0