Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
dmroberts

Force Phase clarification

19 posts in this topic

Hello everyone

 

During the Force Phase, aside from cards that have been committed to the Force, are cards with "Force User" and "Force Sensitive" attributes considered when adding up the Force Icons?

 

Also, let's say cards A and B were declared as attackers, and cards C and D were declared as defenders, and at the end of the Conflict, they are all focused. And let's say cards A B C and D were committed to the Force; do these cards get considered in the Force phase? Or is it only cards that are not focused?

 

I hope I made sense of my questions. I just bought the core set recently and am still trying to squash out all of the details. Any information helps, thanks!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Sweet thanks! Can you commit a "Force User" or "Force Sensitive" card to the Force?

 

Can you declare committed cards as attackers/defenders?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

To address the underlying issue ... "force user" and "force sensitive" are traits. A trait in itself has no function - the rules don't use them in any way. A trait's only reason for existence is to be referenced by effects which specifically name that exact trait (eg an enhancement may have an effect which says it can only be attached to a user with the "force user" trait).

Devon Greatwolf likes this

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Hello again,

 

Not taking what side the Force card is up into consideration, does the Death Star dial begin at the beginng of either sides turn? Or does it only click at the beginning of the Dark side's turn? If it clicks once on the beginning of both players turns, that seems pretty harsh.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

The Death Star dial only* moves up during the DS player's Balance Phase, not on the LS player's Balance Phase.

 

*I say "only" but of course there are other ways to move the dial like Hunt for Han Solo, Decoy at Dantooine, Devastator, etc. But as far as the beginning of the turn movement, it's only during the DS player's turn.

 

EDIT: Ninja'd!

Edited by Budgernaut

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I had a question for clarification in this regard.

 

The balance of the force is with the DS.

Both the LS and DS commited to the force units are focused out.

It is now the DS players turn. Does the dial increase by an extra +1 even though the DS commited unit is focused out?

 

Thanks.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Yes. As long as the balance of the Force is with the dark side during the Balance phase of the Dark Side player's turn, the Death Star dial will increase twice during that phase.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Thank you for the reply.

So it has nothing to do with the DS units comitted to the force being focused out.

 

Thank you for the clarification.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Thank you for the reply.

So it has nothing to do with the DS units comitted to the force being focused out.

 

Thank you for the clarification.

Exactly.  It only indirectly cares about the committed units being exhausted because exhausted units don't count their force icons during the force struggle.*  Thus if all of the committed DS units are exhausted, it is much easier for the LS to win the force struggle (though in your scenario they were all exhausted as well so not so much).

 

*Before someone jumps in with the exception, there are card effects that allow you to count the force icons on an exhausted unit, but outside of a specific card effect counting them, exhausted units do not count their force icons.

Thaliak likes this

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

For cards that say, "After you win an edge battle, put this unit into play from your hand as a participating unit on your side" do you also need to pay the resource cost for it as well?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

For cards that say, "After you win an edge battle, put this unit into play from your hand as a participating unit on your side" do you also need to pay the resource cost for it as well?

Nope.

 

There is an important distinction between the phrase "put into play" and the word "play." 

 

-Play describes the process where you reveal the card, pay the cost, and then have it enter play/resolve.  For units and enhancements, this is usually during the Deploy Phase, though some cards have abilities that would allow them to be played at other times (eg Admiral Ackbar, Backstabber).

 

-Put into play is an effect that moves a card from an out of play area to an in play state without going through the entire process of playing it, which includes bypassing the cost.  Definition of "put into play" can be found on pg 27 of the core rule book.

dmroberts likes this

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Also, Ackbar says "During an engagement, play this unit from your hand as a participating unit on your side" Same question, is resource cost required?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Also, Ackbar says "During an engagement, play this unit from your hand as a participating unit on your side" Same question, is resource cost required?

Ninja'd you with that answer, but for clarity: yes, Ackbar's cost must be paid.

dmroberts likes this

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

if i'm using a card in an engagement with en exhaust ability, can i exhaust an opponent's card that is NOT in the engagement?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

if i'm using a card in an engagement with en exhaust ability, can i exhaust an opponent's card that is NOT in the engagement?

Yes, Tactics may be applied to any Unit within or without the Engagement.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0