Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
Alopias

Defense roll on surges - Mace of Kellos

7 posts in this topic

The first surge ability on the Mace of Kellos card reads :Each monster adjacent to you suffers 1 life. Our overload feels all his monsters that would get his by this (i.e. they are adjecent to the hero) should get a defense roll to not be hit by the ability.

 

We disagree.

 

Anyone have any thoughts on this?

 

He only gets a defense roll on the initial attack, not on the additional surge AoE hit, right?

 

The same applies for the Tempest ability for the Spiritspeaker. He feels he should get a defense roll if the hero successfully passes the test (the card reads :Exhaust this card and test star. If you fail, recover 1 stam. If you pass, each monster within 3 spaces suffers 2 life and each hero within 3 spaces of you recovers 1 life). Why would the Overlord get a defense roll after the hero had to pass the skill check?

 

Our overload is saying he will only concede with official rules. Can anyone point to an official rule that would settle the arguement?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

There is no defense roll for the damage suffered. It simply states they suffer one damage: it is not an attack.

The official rules are pretty clear: you only get defense rolls for attacks.

Edited by Whitewing

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

There is no defense roll for the damage suffered. It simply states they suffer one damage: it is not an attack.

The official rules are pretty clear: you only get defense rolls for attacks.

You're correct, Whitewing, but you can also roll defense as a side effect of some cards (such as "Reflective Ward", but that's referred to as "dealt".) In general, when it says "suffer," you just suffer. You don't defend.

Edited by Zaltyre

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

 

There is no defense roll for the damage suffered. It simply states they suffer one damage: it is not an attack.

The official rules are pretty clear: you only get defense rolls for attacks.

You're correct, Whitewing, but you can also roll defense as a side effect of some cards (such as "Reflective Ward", but that's referred to as "dealt".) In general, when it says "suffer," you just suffer. You don't defend.

 

 

I should also note that Reflective Ward features an attack =p.

Zaltyre likes this

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I know this is an older post but maybe somebody will still see this.

During a first attack with a surge. Can the sure be blocked?

 

Example. Attack rolls 3 heart and a surge for additional 1 heart.

Defender rolls 4 shields.

Would the defender take zero damage?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

That is correct, the damage total is 4, and the defense total is 4, so no damage is suffered. The damage is suffered in a separate phase of the attack after damage and defense totals are calculated, and surges are spent before damage is suffered.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0