Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
shunshirou

Theon Greyjoy card issue

5 posts in this topic

Hell everyone,

 

A question concerning Theon Greyjoy card! This is the description on the card:

 

Strength: 2

If defending a Stronghold/Castle, this card gains +1 Combat Strength and a Sword icon.

 

Why would I want a sword icon if I'm DEFENDING? Besides '+1', that ability is completely useless. Has anyone ever questioned it or thought of any way around?

We've thought of two possibilities to work it around:

 

a) In this special case, the sword icon DOES destroy an enemy's unit, even though you're defending. We're kinda assuming it's a special ability.

 

b) Simply replace "sword" by "fortification", as it's what really works if you're defending.

 

 

Any other idea is very welcome!


Cheers.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

The sword icon and fortification icons have nothing to with being the attacker or defender.  If you win the battle, regardless of being the attacker or defender, the sword icon will kill an enemy unit unless the losing player has a fortification icon to counter it.

 

For reference refer to step three of the combat section in the rulebook (p.19).

Edited by mungkei
The Professor likes this

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Just downloaded the rules in English and you're correct, which means there's a mistake (probably related to translation) in the Brazilian rulebook. It clearly says that only the attacker (not the winner) should take swords into account and the defender should care for fortifications only. No wonder anyone (at least not on English forums) has ever complained about that card before.

Thanks! 

Edited by shunshirou

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Sword Icons are only playable as the Attacker, not the Defender.  I can understand the printed error in this card, however there must be some reasoning behind the Sword icons being used as a Special Text Ability, any official ruling would be great.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Rulebook, Page 19, Under "Combat Resolution"

 

2. Casualties

 

Only the defeated player takes casualties in combat. Casualties
are determined as follows:

 

1. Victor’s Sword Icon: Count the number of Swords icons
on the victor’s House card.

 

2. Defeated Player’s Fortification Icons: Count the number
of Fortification icons on the defeated player’s House card.

 

3. Defeated Player Suffers Casualties: The defeated
player must destroy one unit in the embattled area for each
Sword icon of the victorious player minus the number of
Fortification icons of the defeated player (if the result is zero
or less, the defender takes no casualties).


 

Edited by kauai1964

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0