• Announcements

    • FFG Fra

      Upcoming Changes to the Fantasy Flight Games Forums   01/20/2017

      Hello Fantasy Flight Games forum community!   This week, we will be making some important changes to your Fantasy Flight Games community account and the way that you log into the Fantasy Flight Games community forums and web store.   We have been working hard to integrate with the rest of the Asmodee group, and we are happy to announce a unified way to access all the websites and apps made by Fantasy Flight Games, Days of Wonder, and Asmodee!   For most users, nothing will change: you will still log into the Fantasy Flight Games forums using your current login name and password. Only the login user interface will be new.   For a few users, your credentials might be slightly changed. For example, this could happen to users who have both a Fantasy Flight Games and Days of Wonder account, or in the case of conflicting login names across platforms. When these situations occur, special e-mails will be sent to those users with an easy explanation about those changes and what steps to take next. For any of you receiving those e-mails, please make sure to follow the instructions carefully.   Remember, official communications from Fantasy Flight Games or Asmodee.Net will never ask for your password.   What are the benefits for you as a player? Using a unified account to access all of our web services and apps makes your life simpler. Over time, you will see new features emerging, such as keeping all of your friends under a single account, finding friends easily in apps with online play, or developing your personal profile by adding to your board games collection. These are just some of the features that you will see during the next year, once this important technical step is complete.   Important note: The migration of the forums to our new system will take place on Tuesday, January 24th. The forums will be offline for about two hours during that time. Once the migration is complete, older forum posts may look strange for up to 24 hours as we rebuild them in our new system.   We can’t wait to connect our board game communities and build bridges between universes, game systems, players, events, groups, game clubs, and more! This is only the first step in bringing people and games closer together. For more information, read our FAQ at https://asmodee.helpshift.com/a/asmodee-net/.   Best regards,   The Fantasy Flight Games Team
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
nhennsc

attacking while in a hazard space?

5 posts in this topic

During my last encounter my group came across an issue. The OL used a hellhound to move into a hazard space, interrupted his movement to make an attack, then moved his remaining movement spaces. The hero players were upset saying that as soon as he stops in a hazard space he is defeated (hazard follows the same rules as lava). The OL explained that he is defeated when he ends his turn in a hazard space, and that his turn was not ended until after his remaining movement points were spent. The hero players were still upset but the game went on. Did the OL play it correctly or was the hero players right?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

The figure isn't defeated unless it ends its turn in the hazard/lava space.  It can move through and interrupt in hazard/lava spaces as much as it can (taking damage as appropriate).  From the Rulebook (Page 18, bottom left):

 

 

A figure entering a space containing lava immediately suffers one damage. Any figure that ends its turn in a lava space is immediately defeated.

 

Since the hellhound still had movement points left, the OL was allowed to move the Hellhound out of its current spot to safer ground.

BentoSan likes this

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

jadedbacon is correct. It takes damage from having entered the hazard space, but it is not defeated unless it is still within the space when its turn ends.

 

Furthermore, expanding into hazard spaces does not count as entering the space: the actual space you enter is the only one that counts.

BentoSan likes this

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Whitewing and jaded bacon are correct.

It's also important to note that a monster needs to be able to attack from the space before it expands.

Thus if the monster had to be in the hazard space to be able to legally make the attack before it expanded it would recieve damage.

Also a monster in its entirety needs to be in the hazard spaces to be defeated at the end of the turn. If it had one foot in and one foot out it is not defeated at the end of the turn.
jadedbacon likes this

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

All true about the large monsters and defeat only at "end of turn". Last campaign I managed to immobilize a necromancer in a lava space (Web Trap!)  I was proud of myself until he decided to use his last action to summon the Reanimate, who proceeded to kick the snot out of one of my monsters. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0