Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
gen Zelgius

Greatjon commit ability question

5 posts in this topic

Hi,

can anyone help with The Greatjon commit ability?

Last night I played with a friend and argued 30 minutes about that:

I have 3 units next to the Great Jon Umber:

Two red infantry units and one blue infantry. Dies result are red, valor, morale and 2 green.

After he flips the card what will happen, which units take damage:

a) All red units take hits because of the one red die, blue unit because of the valor, and all units retreat one hex

b) One red and blue, or two red units because red die and valor, and one unit / target unit/ retreat one hex

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Mind posting the text on Greatjon's card? Don't have the game with me, and it's too a long time to go by memory

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

This seems pretty straight forward.

 

Here is what the card says:

 

Flip this card if Greatjon's unit rolls at least three different die results during an attack. All enemy units adjacent to Greatjon's unit take damage based on the die results instead of just the target unit and none can counterattack.

 

 

You had two red units and one blue unit adjacent.

Die results were a red, valor, morale, and two green (not sure how you got 5 dice, but whatever).

 

The die results would be applied to all 3 adjacent units. Red units (assuming they're not cavalry) would take two hits (one red and one valor) and retreat (assuming they aren't stalwart) while blue unit would take a hit from the valor (assuming it's not cavalry) and retreat (assuming it's not stalwart).

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

wel, lets get started

this is based on the rules and the FAQ

 

"Q. Does the Greatjon’s “The Greatjon” commit 

ability also apply morale results to all adjacent units?
A. No; morale results are not considered damage."
 
from this you know 2 things: 1) morale results don't do anything
and 2) it is to all 
 
this may look overpowerd but this means in your example :"Two red infantry units and one blue infantry. Dies result are red, valor, morale and 2 green."
this wil kill 2 red infantery in each group (unless they have heavy armor then each loses 1 because of the ignore valor) and 1 infantery in the blue group. 
if they are in a building or have toughness or cover this will ignore 1 extra hit
 
bare in mind that your friend rolled lucky!
and that stark has better commander abilities, lanister has better tactics on the card (in comparensen to how many times you use those commanders in the base game scenario's)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0