Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
twistedbard

Highlander Question

4 posts in this topic

can the highlander choose to draw a second card in the hills after looking at the first?

 

my buddies argument against is that you'd have completed drawing after the first card if you haven't already declaired that you're drawing two cards beforehand. it seems to me that if nothing in the rules says that you have to do such a thing, then deciding wether or not you're done drawing after the first card would be perfectly legal.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

You can draw the first card and look at it, then decide if you want to draw a second card.

 

The Highlander's ability says "you may draw two cards, instead of one".

 

It looks like drawing 2 cards is an alternative to drawing only one card. It doesn't say that you may draw 1 additional card.

DomaGB likes this

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I agree with The Warlock, the word "may" is a choice, and the consequences are with the text as well: "but you must encounter both cards"
 
Sorta like an "If and then" in basic programming. And if they are making rules of "if and then" and they wanted to give the character power, they could have made another "if and then" type statement:  "If you want another card after the 1st, you may then draw a 2nd".
 
Or even word it better and save space, as card space is a premium: "Whenever you land on the Hills, you may draw a 2nd card after the 1st, but you must encounter both cards. If there is a card already on the Hills when you land there, you may draw a second card, but you must encounter both cards."

Edited by DomaGB

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0