Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
Jban

Ravens of the Mountain vs Ravenous Hawk

7 posts in this topic

Hi all,

 

today I played a 2 player game in The Hunt for Gollum Nightmare and we can into the next situation. I played Ravens of the Mountain and we found the Ravenous Hawk.

 

ffg_ravens-of-the-mountain-otd.jpg                   uMEN04-card-05.png

 

I wondered what the outcome would be. I thought the following. We engage the ravenous hawk because we looked at it because of a card effect, and afterwards he returns to the top of the encounter deck because Ravens of the Mountains explicitely states that the card goes to the top of the encounter deck. Was this play correct or not?

 

Some explanation would be nice.

 

Edits: Typo's

Edited by Jban

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

The Hawks forced effect never trigger, since the Ravens doesn't instruct you to look at cards. You only get to shuffle and reveal.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

The Errata'd version of the Ravens does state look:

 

Ravens of the Mountain OtD 11 Should read: “Action: Exhaust a hero you control to shuffle the encounter deck and look at its top card..." 

 

(Added color)

Edited by ricedwlit
Jban likes this

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

It is because of this Errata I didn't know what the outcome would be, since I think the Ravenous Hawk's Forced effect gets triggered

 

M1634.png.

 

Uploaded proper image

Edited by Jban

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

This needs an official ruling, but my hunch is that the Ravenous Hawk is put into play engaged with you and stays that way. I could certainly be wrong, but generally those forced effects and strong words like "must" tend to supersede everything else. 

PsychoRocka likes this

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I asled Caleb and this is the answer :

 

If you look at Ravenous Hawk with Ravens of the Mountain, you will put it into play. Then you will place progress on the quest equal to its threat strength, and then you will put Ravenous Hawk back on top of the encounter deck.

Simply resolve each line one by one.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0