Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
Crysus

Rebel Aces Spoilers on Team Covenant

379 posts in this topic

So one thing that hasent been covered is does Jan's ability apply to the ship she is on?

I say no mainly because you cant be at range 1-3 of yourself, however all other ships with similar

abilites say other friendly ships at a certain range

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Seriously. This again. We are a week away from the unhittable 4 attack dice ship from landing. The balance is fine. Every time a new ship or pack is revealed the other side calls foul. Next week you get your awesomeness. I have to wait till after my regionals. So yay.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

 Imperials get the shaft in options at least.

gimme some of what you are smoking.  tie phantoms are evil encarnate.  if you take the high skill pilots and you are good at moving you will never end in someone's firing arc.. EVER.  and given the right equipment can screw the other play'ers movement with stress tokens.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Jan's text box looks too cramped to have been able to fit "another" word in, so I'm guessing the ability operates the same way as all the others. She cannot use the ability on herself.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Jan's text box looks too cramped to have been able to fit "another" word in, so I'm guessing the ability operates the same way as all the others. She cannot use the ability on herself.

On the other hand Etahn, as far as we know, affects himself. It could be similar.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Jan should work well on a ship with multiple comms boosters.

 

Kyle does the same as recon specialist: He gives you a focus token for the same points cost. The trigger condition is entirely different.

There are only three non-huge rebel ships with crew slots. YT with PTL/EH and Kyle is attractive. Jan will like him as a copilot. Keyan? Not sure. How useful is the extra token with 1 agility?

 

I guess the points cost of the B-Wing title is zero.

 

It's 1.

Vorpal Sword likes this

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

 

Jan's text box looks too cramped to have been able to fit "another" word in, so I'm guessing the ability operates the same way as all the others. She cannot use the ability on herself.

On the other hand Etahn, as far as we know, affects himself. It could be similar.

 

 

The wording is completely different.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Look at it this way

You know they are going to keep the aces packs coming out. Next will probably be another imperial aces pack.

Also, they will come out with Imperial huge ships,so they will get some lovin.

When they came out with the advance the game was in its early stages. Over time the ships lost their appeal. I only started playing January/February, but I have to say I think early in the advance was probably a good solution to the X wing. It's just now with everything else, it's probably the least used ship.

I think it's a sure bet to assume the next ace pack may include a advanced and probably something else. Same with a future Rebel pack will probably have something for the ywing.

As each pack comes out we will hear the same song and dance from people. No matter what people will always be unhappy with something. It's sad but true. Can't please everyone, otherwise we would live in a perfect world.

It's as the saying goes.

"Opinions are like a-holes. Everyone's got one and they all stink"

Edited by Krynn007
rym and LeoHowler like this

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I always thought the "another" was kind of redundant anyway. A ship cannot be in range 1-3 of itself. And they usually follow the pattern of "when YOU do X, a ship may do Y." There's clearly a POV shift their that makes clarifying that it is "another" ship unnecessary.

This stuff looks cool. More ingredients to cook up lists with!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Jan's text box looks too cramped to have been able to fit "another" word in, so I'm guessing the ability operates the same way as all the others. She cannot use the ability on herself.

On the other hand Etahn, as far as we know, affects himself. It could be similar.

 

The wording is completely different.

Nothing on the card suggests Jan cannot affect her own ship. There is something to be said about whether you count as within range one of yourself.

Point of reference. Assault missile says Each Other ship at range one takes the damage, implying you are at range one of yourself.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Precedence suggests Jan cannot affect her own ship. She is the only card to reference "friendly" ships (not "attacking" ships, as is the case with Etahn) without the word "another" being involved, which, as has just been pointed out, is not only redundant, but wouldn't even fit in the text box if they wanted it to.

 

As for Assault Missiles, you are at range 1 of the target of the attack, not yourself.

Edited by WonderWAAAGH
Veldrin likes this

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Precedence suggests Jan cannot affect her own ship. She is the only card to reference "friendly" ships (not "attacking" ships, as is the case with Etahn) without the word "another" being involved, which, as has just been pointed out, is not only redundant, but wouldn't even fit in the text box if they wanted it to.

 

As for Assault Missiles, you are at range 1 of the target of the attack, not yourself.

Is she suddenly not on her own team.

There is quite a bit of ambiguity to the question. I can see both sides. Typically when it comes down to that it really means, we'll need a FAQ entry. Nothing in the rules says a ship isn't friendly to itself. Jan is clearly designed to work well with Kyle Katarn. By allowing her to affect the ship she's on that synergy is at its strongest.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Afaik a ship isn't at Range 1 of itself, it occupies a base hole in its own range field. How would you even measure a ship's distance from itself?

 

That being said, on thinking how you'd phrase it to include the ship Jan's on, Aminar may have a point. It's ambiguous.

Edited by Lagomorphia

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Is she suddenly not on her own team.

 

Again, that's not the wording of the card. Can you be friends with yourself?

 

Ambiguity is slowly being addressed by FFG, but if they've made one thing clear in the most recent FAQ, it's that specific wording matters. A friendly ship is, connotatively, any other ship but itself. The word "another" has been used redundantly, until now, to clarify just this sort of potential misunderstanding. As I am about to repeat for a third time, there is simply no room for a redundant word on her text box. If we exercise a little common sense here - rather than playing devil's advocate - it becomes clear that Jan operates the same way every other similarly worded ability has.

Edited by WonderWAAAGH
Veldrin likes this

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Is she suddenly not on her own team.

 

Again, that's not the wording of the card. Can you be friends with yourself?

 

Ambiguity is slowly being addressed by FFG, but if they've made one thing clear in the most recent FAQ, it's that specific wording matters.

Why yes, yes I can be friends with myself.

They could have easily shrunk the font to fit the word "Another" on the card.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

How would you phrase it to include Jan's ship?

 

And, more importantly, do we have a card that includes the ship its on to compare?

Edited by Lagomorphia

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

The question isn't whether Jan's ship is friendly to itself, but if it is within Range 1 of itself.

 

Didn't we come to the conclusion on a similar question with I think Swarm Tactics a while back? anyone remember the results? because glancing a both sides of the argument it's the same dilemma. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Why yes, yes I can be friends with myself.

They could have easily shrunk the font to fit the word "Another" on the card.

 

Don't be ludicrous. You are dangerously approaching "the X-Wing rules don't specifically say we can't use loaded dice" territory.

Veldrin likes this

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

 

The question isn't whether Jan's ship is friendly to itself, but if it is within Range 1 of itself.

 

Didn't we come to the conclusion on a similar question with I think Swarm Tactics a while back? anyone remember the results? because glancing a both sides of the argument it's the same dilemma.

It is the same dilemma.

The conclusion to that ST discussion? FFG added "may" to the card. Which made the question a moot point.

IvlerIin likes this

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

How would you phrase it to include Jan's ship?

Honestly, just as it is now works well enough.

Which is part of why its so ambiguous. But I think the lack of the word Another is really telling. They wouldn't cut a word that important without reason.

Combined with the wording on Assault Missiles implying ships are in fact within range one of themselves, I'm fairly positive she'll be able to give evades to the ship she's on.

But it still does need a Faq entry.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
But I think the lack of the word Another is really telling. They wouldn't cut a word that important without reason.

 

Oh come on, the reason is pretty **** obvious.

Veldrin likes this

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Why yes, yes I can be friends with myself.

They could have easily shrunk the font to fit the word "Another" on the card.

 

Don't be ludicrous. You are dangerously approaching "the X-Wing rules don't specifically say we can't use loaded dice" territory.

Friendly in the use X-Wing has generally used, means on the same Team as.

The ship Jan is on is in fact, on your team.

Nothing about the word friendly implies it can't affect itself.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0