Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
Crysus

Rebel Aces Spoilers on Team Covenant

379 posts in this topic

Clever how they handled the B-wing/E. Eats the mod slot, and you can't put it on named pilots.

It's essentially "Any crew member can fly the B-wing."

 

I like the way Jan Ors and Kyle Katarn have some serious synergy with each others' HWKs. I think Kyle crew's probably more at home in an Adv-Sensor B-wing though.

 

That being said, "Late 2014" I think kills the July release rumours.

Edited by Lagomorphia

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I don't understand what you mean by no named pilots can take the crew?

These crew cards are going to make my head explode. The once per round on Jan helps to prevent Biggs from sitting on three Evade tokens, which could be beastly. Still, having a Focus or two plus one Evade token is nice. Maybe R2F2 + Stealth will be more viable with extra token options and the ability to pick which he takes.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

It's time to play 'How Expensive Can You Make Farlander?!'

Just gotta Bingo the upgrade bar!

Farlander

/E

Crewbacca

Adv sensor

PTL

Adv Proton Torp x2

HLC

59? I know EPT and sensor can each add another point.

So yeah, Farlander.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

It's time to play 'How Expensive Can You Make Farlander?!'

Just gotta Bingo the upgrade bar!

Farlander

/E

Crewbacca

Adv sensor

PTL

Adv Proton Torp x2

HLC

59? I know EPT and sensor can each add another point.

So yeah, Farlander.

 

Except Farlander is a unique pilot thus cannot use the E2 modification.

Edited by dandirk

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

It's time to play 'How Expensive Can You Make Farlander?!'

Just gotta Bingo the upgrade bar!

Farlander

/E

Crewbacca

Adv sensor

PTL

Adv Proton Torp x2

HLC

59? I know EPT and sensor can each add another point.

So yeah, Farlander.

 

Except Farlander is a unique pilot thus cannot use the E2 modification.

Where does it say that? Nowhere...

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Where are you getting the impression that only Blue and Daggers can only use the /E... there's nothing in the card text that indicates that, and while it's not fully revealed, there's nothing that looks like it could...  Plus it goes away from FFGs meta push to higher skilled named pilots and AWAY from generics.

Nameme99 likes this

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

It's not clear to me that "non-unique B-Wing modification only"

 

Means:

 

An upgrade for non-unique B-wings. (you can only equip on unnamed B-wings)

 

OR

 

An upgrade for B-wings that isn't unique. (you can have multiple B-wings with crew)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Aaaarrg someone should teach them about the comma!

What Comma? The card itself is "B-Wing only. Modification." That's perfectly fine. It's exactly how the Phantom mods work. Nothing on the card suggests it can't go on named pilots. Literally nothing?
DagobahDave and Iffo like this

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

It's not clear to me that "non-unique B-Wing modification only"

 

Means:

 

An upgrade for non-unique B-wings. (you can only equip on unnamed B-wings)

 

OR

 

An upgrade for B-wings that isn't unique. (you can have multiple B-wings with crew)

What's more, that's just someone's writing, not the actual card text. The card can be used on all B's. On the card itself, there is no room on the small, barely left out portion for text to the effect of non-unique pilots only.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

trying to work out where the no named pilots thing comes from???

I just see B-wing only modification - Adds crew icon for 1 point.

Interesting having a crew member give the rebels evade tokens that they normally don't have. A recon spec crewed Falcon can suddenly have multiple evade tokens per turn or a focus and evade

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

 

Aaaarrg someone should teach them about the comma!

What Comma? The card itself is "B-Wing only. Modification." That's perfectly fine. It's exactly how the Phantom mods work. Nothing on the card suggests it can't go on named pilots. Literally nothing?

 

 

 

This is that the site listed/reported

 

B-Wing/E2

non-unique B-Wing modification only

Your upgrade bar gains the [CREW] icon

 

If the line was "non-unique, B-Wing modification only" then it would mean a non-unique card, b-wing mod only.  No comma means the modification is for a non-unique b-wing.

 

Sorry I took the report at their word and againg read it in proper english.

 

I will admit it on the internet for everyone to read... I was mistaken and you were right.  Happy now?  You win the internet!

Ailowynn likes this

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

trying to work out where the no named pilots thing comes from???

I just see B-wing only modification - Adds crew icon for 1 point.

Interesting having a crew member give the rebels evade tokens that they normally don't have. A recon spec crewed Falcon can suddenly have multiple evade tokens per turn or a focus and evade

Jan is once per turn. So PTL Falcons with title can have two. I still need to know if you can actually use multiple evade tokens per attack. We've never gotten a ruling on garven for that either.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Aaaarrg someone should teach them about the comma!

What Comma? The card itself is "B-Wing only. Modification." That's perfectly fine. It's exactly how the Phantom mods work. Nothing on the card suggests it can't go on named pilots. Literally nothing?

 

 

This is that the site listed/reported

 

B-Wing/E2

non-unique B-Wing modification only

Your upgrade bar gains the [CREW] icon

 

If the line was "non-unique, B-Wing modification only" then it would mean a non-unique card, b-wing mod only.  No comma means the modification is for a non-unique b-wing.

 

Sorry I took the report at their word and againg read it in proper english.

 

I will admit it on the internet for everyone to read... I was mistaken and you were right.  Happy now?  You win the internet!

The meaning is ambiguous either way. The comma does not clarify it. Which means you have to look at context. So next time, read the card before assuming what it does based on a comma. Yes it's a list, it should have a comma. But that whole section isn't punctuated. Context is the key. Context trumps grammar.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Herm... So I've never flown the YT before, but I'm now considering the following

 

Rookie

Tarn

Han w/ Kyle, Jan, PTL, MF

Total: 99 points

 

 

The point of the escorts is obviously to get Han to end game.  In the meantime, whomever they're shooting at can take an evade token, and if it's Tarn, he can still have a TL for offense.  

 

In the end game, Han can take a F + E from PTL, and turn them both into E from Jan.  He will be relatively predictable with wanting to do greens every turn, so Kyle is there to provide him with a single evade when he's blocked.  And when he's not, Han will end up with F F E or F E E.  Not bad either way!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

looking at the card there is no room for the words "non-unique" so still not sure where they got that from

 

Indeed.

 

Folks, look at the card in the picture, and NOT what is written in the article.

 

The CARD ITSELF says: 

 

<obscured>wing only.  Modification

 

Your upgrade bar gains

the <crew symbol> upgrade icon.

 

 

The <obscured> portion clearly has only enough space for the "B-" part of "B-wing".

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0