Jump to content
kaosoe

FFG Developer Answered Questions

Recommended Posts

Question:

Can multiple talents that require a combat check combined with a force power check be performed at the same time? As an example using the Executioners Essential Kill talent at the same time as Saber Throw? In this situation I imagine you only ever roll your force dice once, but can choose to spend any of the Force Pips on either talents effects. so perhaps a character rolls 3 pips and chooses to spend 2 on Saber throw, then the third on Essential Kill to gain an additional advantage. I completely understand that 2 Talents that require specific and different skills (eg Hawk Bat Swoop and Draw Closer) could not be used at the same time due to the different skills involved. But some don't specify a specific skill.

Answer from Sam Stewart:

No

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

During our game we had a speeder bike chase happen

One of our players crashed their speeder bike and was thrown from the bike.

 

How would you calculate damage for this? we hard pressed to find an appropriate answer to this 

 

What would you recommend ? 

 

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

This thread is not where we discuss things like this. This thread is for posting the answers we get back from the devs.

If you’d like to discuss a particular dev response, I’d recommend creating a new thread for that.

 

Sorry, Malik, that's the only answer you'll get here.

 

If you need a definitive answers from the powers that be, you'll have to contact them directly (afterwards you may post their wisdom here). If you're looking for advice from fellow players, see above.

Edited by Grimmerling

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

During our game we had a speeder bike chase happen

One of our players crashed their speeder bike and was thrown from the bike.

 

How would you calculate damage for this? we hard pressed to find an appropriate answer to this 

 

What would you recommend ? 

The place to actually ask the developers questions is here.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

 

So thanks to the other thread, I asked Sam if someone could have both Signature specializations:

 

Rule Question:

Can a player have more than one Signature Ability? Lets say that a Colonist Politico character manages to buy out his Talent Tree to allow him to pick up Unmatched Expertise.

This character then buys the Entrepreneur tree and buys all the talents in the bottom row. Should he be allowed to attach Insightful Revelation to the new tree? Or does a character get one Signature Ability - and that's it.

 

Answered by Sam Stewart:

Yes, if you have filled out both specialization trees, you can purchase both signature abilities for the Colonist. Each must be attached to a different tree, of course.
 
Hope this helps!

 

 

 

So thanks to the other thread, I asked Sam if someone could have both Signature specializations:

 

Rule Question:

Can a player have more than one Signature Ability? Lets say that a Colonist Politico character manages to buy out his Talent Tree to allow him to pick up Unmatched Expertise.

This character then buys the Entrepreneur tree and buys all the talents in the bottom row. Should he be allowed to attach Insightful Revelation to the new tree? Or does a character get one Signature Ability - and that's it.

 

Answered by Sam Stewart:

Yes, if you have filled out both specialization trees, you can purchase both signature abilities for the Colonist. Each must be attached to a different tree, of course.
 
Hope this helps!

 

So wait a minute...

 

So you're saying that if I start as a Smuggler Pilot then get the Smuggler's version of a Sig. Ability...THEN later get Technicians Modder, that I can ALSO get its Sig. Ability from that book/career as well even though I started in Smuggler???!!!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

 

 

So thanks to the other thread, I asked Sam if someone could have both Signature specializations:

 

Rule Question:

Can a player have more than one Signature Ability? Lets say that a Colonist Politico character manages to buy out his Talent Tree to allow him to pick up Unmatched Expertise.

This character then buys the Entrepreneur tree and buys all the talents in the bottom row. Should he be allowed to attach Insightful Revelation to the new tree? Or does a character get one Signature Ability - and that's it.

 

Answered by Sam Stewart:

Yes, if you have filled out both specialization trees, you can purchase both signature abilities for the Colonist. Each must be attached to a different tree, of course.
 
Hope this helps!

 

 

 

So thanks to the other thread, I asked Sam if someone could have both Signature specializations:

 

Rule Question:

Can a player have more than one Signature Ability? Lets say that a Colonist Politico character manages to buy out his Talent Tree to allow him to pick up Unmatched Expertise.

This character then buys the Entrepreneur tree and buys all the talents in the bottom row. Should he be allowed to attach Insightful Revelation to the new tree? Or does a character get one Signature Ability - and that's it.

 

Answered by Sam Stewart:

Yes, if you have filled out both specialization trees, you can purchase both signature abilities for the Colonist. Each must be attached to a different tree, of course.
 
Hope this helps!

 

So wait a minute...

 

So you're saying that if I start as a Smuggler Pilot then get the Smuggler's version of a Sig. Ability...THEN later get Technicians Modder, that I can ALSO get its Sig. Ability from that book/career as well even though I started in Smuggler???!!!

 

Whatever Career you start with at character creation is what you are locked into for available Sig. Abilities.

 

While you can never change you Career, you can purchase additional specialisations. (This will make any skills linked to that Spec, now become Career skills - this is only the four with the Spec, not the 8 with the Career)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

So then why is the guy saying you can have 2 Sig. Abilities???!!

Because you can purchase both signature abilities that a career has available. In the example, Colonist has Insightful Revelation and Unmatched Expertise; you can start as a Politico, tack on Unmatched Expertise, then purchase Entrepreneur and tack on Insightful Revelation. All specializations and signature abilities are Colonist only.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

So then why is the guy saying you can have 2 Sig. Abilities???!!

When you create your character, you pick a CAREER. then you pick a SPECIALIZATION from that CAREER.

Each CAREER has 2 signature abilities.

When you get to the bottom of your SPECIALIZATION you may choose one of the two signature abilities.

If you pick a second SPECIALIZATION from the SAME CAREER, once you get to the bottom of that SPECIALIZATION, you may purchase that CAREER'S second signature ability.

If you purchase a SPECIALIZATION from a different CAREER than your starting CAREER, you may not add a signature ability from EITHER CAREER to it.

Is that easier to understand?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Question: Does the spread barrel attachment add to a weapon's existing blast quality, such as the VES-700 pulse rifle?

Answer: Hello Randy,

The spread barrel attachment would do nothing; the two blast qualities do not stack because the spread barrel attachment does not “add” to an existing quality.

Hope that helps!

Sam Stewart

RPG Manager

Fantasy Flight Games

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

 

In the description of the blaster carbine in the gear chapter, it has the following line: "Blaster carbines may be fired one-handed with no penalties at short range, just like heavy blaster pistols." Is this intended as a mechanical, or is this simply a part of the description and not intended to be taken as a mechanical rule? It isn't a separate paragraph (as most gear rules are), and it doesn't appear in Age of Rebellion CRB. Thanks.

 

 

Thematically, your character can fire a carbine at short range with one hand without penalties, which may come up if your character has an injured arm, or is hanging off a ladder. Rules-wise, you couldn’t dual-wield carbines, however, or do anything else that seems a bit absurd. 
 
Hope that helps!

Sam Stewart

 

Just something I noticed comparing the material. Thought I'd ask.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Thematically, your character can fire a carbine at short range with one hand without penalties, which may come up if your character has an injured arm, or is hanging off a ladder. Rules-wise, you couldn’t dual-wield carbines, however, or do anything else that seems a bit absurd. 

 

Hope that helps!

Sam Stewart

Which directly contravenes the “carbine” rule as described for the DR-45 Dragoon Cavalry Blaster.

Sigh….

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Questions:

 

I have two questions regarding the "Gain the Advantage" action.

#1: How long does the effects of "Gain the Advantage" last? Until the end of the next round, or until the target is able to 'reverse' the effect? Or some other period of time?

#2: Based on this wording on page 247: "In addition the, the pilot also chooses which defense zone he hits with his attack."

Is the target only able to fire weapons at the attacker from the zone that was targeted? Or can they use any weapons in any arc as 'normal' (and dictated by the narrative)?

 

Answers:

 

#1: The effects of Gain the Advantage last until the end of the following round. If the pilot who has Gained the Advantage uses the action again on the subsequent turn while he still has the Advantage on his target, it “reapplies” the effect of the action and the duration is extended to end of the following round after that. In this way, the pilot can continue the effects of his Advantage, increasing the difficulty for his target to break out as per the last paragraph of the Gain the Advantage description.

#2: Which firing arc is allowed to shoot at a ship is entirely handled narratively, and thus is up to the GM based on where the ships have ended up relative to each other. In the case of Gain the Advantage, the ship with Advantage is keeping itself in a favorable position relative to the targeted ship, so in this case it is likely that the targeted ship would be limited to just the weapons in the firing arc the ship with Advantage is staying in. Though the GM is always the final arbiter of this based on the specifics of the story.

 

Andrew Fischer
RPG Producer
Fantasy Flight Games
 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Question: On page 49 of Endless Vigil, the second paragraph of the Merr-Sonn Model 31 Palm Stunner, the bold text indicates an Opposed Skulduggery versus Resilience check, but the last sentence in the paragraph references a Stealth check. Honestly either skill could be used depending upon the situation, but you know how we love our clarifications.

 

Answer (Courtesy of Tim Hucklberry): The correct answer is… Skulduggery!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I just sent a question, regarding an error I found regarding the YZ-775 from Dangerous Covenants. The book give the ship the wrong passenger capacity compared to the original source material.

The book also fails to show that the Turret-mounted Twin Light Turbolasers should have the “Linked 1” quality, as should the Turret-mounted Twin Medium Laser Cannons.

I also sent in a question on this issue.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I asked some questions regarding the YZ-775 from “Dangerous Covenants”, page 68:

Question #1:

Folks, I have some questions on the YZ-775 from "Dangerous Covenants", page 68. First off, I notice that it specifies zero passengers. Is that correct?

Answer:

The zero passengers is not a mistake; the YZ-775 is so overloaded with weapons that it doesn’t have room for non-essential personnel.

Hope that helps!

Sam Stewart

RPG Manager

Fantasy Flight Games

Question #2:

Second, I notice that the Turret-mounted Twin Light Turbolasers and the Turret-mounted Twin Medium Laser Cannons do not have the "Linked 1" quality. Is this not a mistake? Shouldn't all twin weapons have the "Linked 1" quality?

Answer:

The profile for the YZ-775 did have some mistakes in the weapons; those are addressed in the FAQ/Errata and in subsequent printings. Page 4 of the FAQ addresses the YV-775. It can be found here:

https://images-cdn.fantasyflightgames.com/filer_public/fe/65/fe65c91d-6a10-470b-8dfc-f78a8227d5fe/swe02_faq_lowres.pdf

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

When installing modifications to an attachment, does the cumulative increase in difficulty apply to one attachment at a time or add up across all attachments on that item?

 

For example, say my Makashi Duelist has attached a Curved Hilt on his standard lightsaber and installed the Item Quality(Defensive +1) Modification, would then, the +1 Damage modification on the ilum crystal within it be more difficult to install or not?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Remember folks — the purpose of this thread is for the members of the community to post answers that we have asked of the developers, so that everyone in the community can benefit from them.

If you really want to ask questions to the developers, you need to use their form at https://www.fantasyflightgames.com/en/contact/rules/

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

God I love this Dev Team so much!

 

Desslok asks:

Okay, stupid question for you guys that obviously breaks the game engine. In doing a thought experiment to see how much it would cost to buy every talent and every tree in all three lines, something occurred to me - Attributes have a cap of six, cybernetics not withstanding. What happens if you buy a Dedication that puts the character over the 6, 6, 6, 6, 6, 6 limit? Do you skip it like a non-stackable talent? Do you have to buy it and you don't get the bonus?

 
Sam says: 
You would buy it and not get the bonus.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


×
×
  • Create New...