Jump to content
kaosoe

FFG Developer Answered Questions

Recommended Posts

I don't recall the Setting I chose, part of the problem is that I can't even recall my question all that well; basics yes but other stuff I added...not so much...and I don't think there is a way to go and check my Sent mail...8P

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Rules Question:
Hi guys, I’m writing asking about the Farsight Force Power, and in particular the combination of Mastery and Range upgrades. If I activate the Mastery Upgrade, to see from a position within Close Planetary Range, can I then activate the Range upgrade to move that position further away? So as an example i roll four Force Pips I can use, I spend 1 on the base power, two on activating the Mastery, then the last one on two ranks of Range. Does that example allow me to see from a position within Medium Planetary range? Or would it only extend the range of the basic power?

 

Answer 

Hi Richard! It’s the latter – the Range upgrade extends the range of the power for seeing, not the distance from the user for the Mastery upgrade. Maybe work with your GM to create another Range upgrade that extends the distance for Mastery, though—that would be cool! Perhaps 15 or so.

Hope this helps and thanks for playing!

Tim Huckelbery

 

 

Follow up question 

Thanks Tim,

I really appreciate the answer, it does lead to a second question though. Does the Range upgrade apply to the 3 5xp Control Upgrades?

Richard 

 

 

Follow Up Answer 

Hi Richard! Yes it does.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Unlimited Power - Alchemy Crafting - in Step 3: Construction second section under the Alchemical Crafting subsection - Page 80 - Column 2 ‘Instead the character may spend white pips generated on the check...’ it then reads ‘Likewise the GM may spend any black pips generated ...’

My question is this - unlike with advantage and threat you can have both white and black pips simultaneously as they don’t cancel out - is this therefore a correct interpretation of the situation in this case that crafted Alchemy items are likely to have both positive and negative traits chosen from tables 3-2 and 3-4?

A follow up question must then be - are we reading crafting rules wrong in general and advantage and threat do NOT cancel during the crafting role?

———————————————

To the first part of your question, your check for Alchemy can have Light Side and Dark Side results that can be spent by you and your GM, so the final item can have both positive and negative elements.

 

To the second part of your question, crafting rules follow the same rules as other checks do. Advantage and Threat do cancel out.

 

Hope this helps!

 

Sam Gregor-Stewart

RPG Department Manager

Fantasy Flight Games

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Bunch of questions and answers

Hi assuming a warrior:shii-cho knight/niman-disciple build with the unmatched ferocity signature ability attached to shii-cho knight with the change skill lightsaber and change target upgrades... I believe Draw closer can be used against against an engaged target so even under a strict reading this should just let you add force dice -> successes to make chaining unmatched ferocity attacks a little easier, can you confirm that this is the case? Draw closer also potentially allows you to move adversaries at short or medium range to you. When using the the change target upgrade to unmatched ferocity, would the determination of legal targets for unmatched ferocity happen before or after the application of draw closer? If unmatched ferocity automatically stops when there are no targets engaged to you, could you when there was one engaged target left use draw closer on a different targets to draw more into engaged range and thus continue attacking with unmatched ferocity that way?

Your interpretation of Draw Closer as-written is correct. However, your GM could limit your use of this ability if they felt you were violating the spirit of the talent.

 

However, Unmatched Ferocity specifies that it only works against engaged targets. Therefore, the rest of the question is moot, because you can’t use Draw Closer to pull a target to your character, then continue to use Unmatched Ferocity against them. You also can’t use Draw Closer to pull someone in and then attack someone who was already engaged.

 

Hope that helps!

 

Hi assuming a consular:niman-disciple/ascetic build with the draw closer (niman-disciple) and empty soul (ascetic) talents, and you have 2 or less encumbrance do the force pips "normally" added by empty soul apply to draw closer?

 

Draw Closer is not a Force Power check, so Empty Soul does not work with it.

Hope this helps!

 

Hi "A" question about the warrior's "unmatched ferocity" signature ability... the text says that the difficulty increases by 1 with each attack even if you change opponents, if you have 2 engaged opponents one with no special abilities (so it's a 2 purple difficulty) and the other with 3 ranks of adversary and 1 point of defense, what is the effect of attack order... to clarify if you attack the opponent with 3 ranks of adversary first and kill him is the attack against the the opponent without adversary facing 3 purple or 3 red and a black, or 2 purple 2 red and a black. If you instead attack the opponent without adversary first and kill him does your next attack against the opponent with adversary face 3 purple, 3 red and a black, or 2 red 2 purple and a black? Thanks for your time.

You would increase the difficulty by one for each other attack your character has made. It wouldn’t matter who the opponent is. I’m not exactly sure what your example is trying to get across, but it looks like you may be confusing increase and upgrade. Increasing difficulty means you add Difficulty dice to the pool. So if you attacked the target without Adversary first, then attacked the target with adversary, the second check’s difficulty would be three Challenge dice. In reverse, it would be three Difficulty dice.

Hope this helps!

Hi Assuming a warrior:steel-hand-adept with the warriors "Unmatched ferocity" signature ability attached to it. if you have the change skill brawl upgrade and the repulsorfist cybenetic can you use the repulsor fist as one attack made as part of unmatched ferocity? given that it has slow firing does that mean that after using the repulsorfist as the first attack you have to stop attacking or can you normally punch them with or without (which?) the cybernetic/repulsorfist hand. Thanks for your time.

As written, you could potentially use the repulsor fist for all attacks that round, based on how Slow-Firing works. However, you should clear that with your GM first, with the understanding that they may not allow it.

Hope that helps!

Hi Assuming a warrior:steel-hand-adept with the the enhance force power with the use with the brawl skill upgrade. can you uses enhance force power with the acklay's scything strike talent? i.e. would you get to add your force dice to the roll while also having pierce equal to your force dice (minus any that are committed of course)? if you also have the warrior;s "Unmatched ferocity" signature ability attached to steel hand adept and the change skill brawl upgrade to unmatched devastation, can you use the enhance power's brawl upgrade to add force dice to the brawl checks associated with unmatched ferocity to increase your odds of triggering subsequent attacks? Thanks for your time.

That is correct.

Hope that helps!

Hi A question about the warrior's "Unmatched ferocity" signature ability if the unmatched ferocity difficulty has already reached formidable, and you succeed on the attack, do you have to stop attacking or do you get to make your next attack against 5 purples or maybe 4 purple and a red? Thanks for your time.

Once a check’s difficulty passes Formidable, it falls under the Impossible checks rule. Basically, you need to get your GM’s permission (and your GM is well within their rights to disallow it), spend a Destiny Point to attempt it, and also potentially suffer upgrades to the difficulty.

Hope that helps!

Does the shien expert's disruptive strike talent require that the shien expert succeed on an attack in order for the shien expert to be able to spend fp to add failures to the next melee/lightsaber attack made by the opponent?

No.

Hope this helps!

 

 

 

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Finally got an answer to something.

Rules Question:
The Sensor Shunt vehicle attachment is on page 63 of Cyphers and Masks. The chart lists the cost as 3,200 credits but the description lists it as 3,100 credits. Which is the correct cost for this attachment?

Hi [me]! It should be 3,100. We’ll get that corrected in the reprint. Thanks for pointing it out and thanks for playing!

 

Tim Huckelbery

RPG Producer

Fantasy Flight Games

thuckelbery@fantasyflightgames.com

Visit us at http://www.fantasyflightgames.com/

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Rules Question:
 

Quote

Dawn of Rebellion p.97 - New Specialisations. "These universal specializations can be used as part of initial character generation..." One of my players is asking if he can take the specialization instead of his starting career specialization. Is this correct?

Reply:

Quote

 

No, your player must first choose a specialization from his career.

Hope that helps!

Sam Gregor-Stewart

 

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Rules Question:

Quote

Lightsaber Modifications I was wondering about the decision to make crystal mods based on the mechanics skill. Surely modding a crystal is less about messing around physically with tools and more about focusing it. Would it not be more appropriate to use Lore, Discipline or Coercion? 

1
1

Reply:

Quote

 

We chose Mechanics based on a number of reasons, including the question of whether one is mentally focusing on the crystal or actually physically shaping or carving it, the fact that the attachment system is an existing system and we wanted to maintain a continuity of rules function, as well as to help diversify needed skills for characters so that Force users don’t gravitate towards Lightsaber, Discipline, and Lore as the only skills they dump XP into.

Hope that helps!

Sam Gregor-Stewart

RPG Department Manager
Fantasy Flight Game

 

 

Edited by BilliousBT

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Here's a question I just asked, and Sam Stewart's response:

Quote

Rules Question:
I'm having a rather heated debate in the forums over the Lying for Personal Gain rule on the tabel of page 324 of the F&D core rulebook. The table says as follows: 1 Conflict: Lying for Personal Gain: The PC tells a lie for seflish reasons or to benefit himself. Some lies can be told without penalty to benefit others, such as avoiding a combat situation or protecting innocents. The stickler of the debate is that second section regarding lies which don't garner Conflict. That being lying for the benefit of others. There are some people on the board claiming that even if you lie for the benefit of others, that you should still garner Conflict except in the most extreme circumstances. My reading of the rule is that if the lie is to benefit others, no matter the situation, it garners no Conflict. IT;'s either for personal gain, and thus gets one Conflict, or it's for the benefit of others, and thus no Conflict. Who is correct here?

 

Hello Michael,

 

Whether or not your character’s actions garner conflict depends on the specifics of the action, and just as importantly, on your GM’s judgement. In the end, some groups will see any lies, no matter how noble, as anathema to the Force, and will award conflict for them. Other groups will be fine allowing lies that are done specifically to help other people, and won’t award conflict.

 

The important takeaway is that neither option is wrong, as long as the GM explains that a PC will receive conflict for a certain action before they do it (giving the player the chance to choose not to accept conflict and do something else), and the GM is consistent in what actions result in conflict.

 

Hope this helps!

 

Sam Gregor-Stewart

RPG Department Manager

Fantasy Flight Games

 

It doesn't really solve the debate, so I sent a follow up question. Will post that if I get a response. 

Edited by Tramp Graphics

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Here’s another quick question and answer I got.

Quote

Rules Question:
I have a couple of wuick questions regarding the Cortosis Weave attachment.. 1 is there a reason why it wasn’t included in the F&D crb like is was in both the AoR and EotE crb? 2 The Cortosis Weave attachment says under Models Include” Various models. The question is does this attachment narratively cover other types of lightsaber resistant material, such as Beskar (Mandalorian Iron), Phrik, and the like or does it strictly cover Cortosis alone?

Hello Michael,

 

We didn’t include the Cortosis Weave attachment in the Core Rulebook because we felt it ran counter to the core game experience for Force and Destiny specifically. If you do choose to introduce it, however, it could narratively represent any lightsaber resistant material.

 

Hope this helps!

 

Sam Gregor-Stewart

RPG Department Manager

Fantasy Flight Games

 

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Rules Question:
Hi Folks at FFG, My question pertains to the use of the talent "Makashi Technique: Force talent. When making a check using the Lightsaber skill the character may use Presence instead of Brawn." This question pertains to using this with an Ancient Sword or Training Stick that would uses the lightsaber skill but have a base damage of +2 or +1, respectively. When using this talent with these weapons is the base damage is set by the characters Presence or Brawn? Of course this would be similar to other Talents that allow the use of alternative characteristics for the lightsaber skill.

Response: The damage by those weapons would still be set by Brawn, not Presence.

Hope this helps! 

Sam Gregor-Stewart

RPG Department Manager

Fantasy Flight Games

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Rules Question:
Suppose a niman disciple with draw closer has ebb/flow Can they be used on the same roll? I know you wouldn't get to add the force dice twice (because it's far to abusable) but could they share dice between the power and talent, for example if they have a white pip that they don't need to hit the target can they use it to get a strain (or 2 depending on upgrades) back?

 

Hello Keith,

You may, but you would not add the Force dice twice (as you noted).

Hope this helps!

Sam Gregor-Stewart

RPG Manager

Fantasy Flight Games

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Rules Question:
Hello team I was looking for some advice in order to settle a discussion I have been having with another player in my game. It involves the Signature ability for the Sentinel. The "My City" ability It all comes down to the wording of the base ability. Once per game when in a "chosen" urban setting. We are at a disagreement at the context of "chosen". He believes that the signature ability requires you to choose one particular setting and you cannot change from that. E.G. Only being able to use the ability with Theed and nowhere else. I am under the impression that the player may choose any one city per session to use the ability with, if you leave said city for any reason you do not gain any benefits in any other cities. Many thanks

Answer:

The ability does assume that you select a single urban location that you know very well; it does not change from session to session. At your GM’s discretion, you may transfer the ability to a new location if your game shifts to a different city, but your character may need to spend some time in the city learning about it (or at least not be able to travel to a new location and use the ability right away).

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Rules Question:

concerning Armor Insert attachment (Cyphers and Masks)

... The main confusion comes from the sentence "Turns any article of clothing into armored clothing (see page 184 of the Age of Rebellion Core Rulebook)" and how this interacts with armors/cloths that have special features. If I take Banal Apparel (upgrade the difficulty of any checks made to identify the wearer once) or Cargo Clothing (may cary upt to 3 items of encumbrance 1 or lower) for example, and add the armor insert attachment to it, do I retain those specials? Or are those features lost because the attachment turns the clothing into armored clothing as described in the Core Rulebook? In addition, what happens to the number of hard points? Does the clothing/armor keep its original number of hard points or are they set to 1, as armored clothing in the Core Rulebook has 1 hard point? ...

 

Answered by Tim Huckelbery:

"Hi there!

It’s as written—your existing clothing becomes armored clothing, and its stats become just those of armored clothing.

However, it would be a cool possibility to discuss with the GM as to creating variants that are designed to be fitted into Banal Apparel or Cargo Clothing.

Hope this helps and thanks for playing!"

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Hi Sam Stewart

I really hope that you can help me with this
I have multiple questions

1.)
in Force and Destiny Unlimited Power page 32 under IMPROVISED CONCOCTION it reads_

Once per encounter, as an action, the character may make a Hard (t t t ) Knowledge (Xenology) check,adding force dice no greater than their Force rating. If the character succeeds, they create 1 dose of any potion, poison. or drug (such as the ones found on page 81 or page 181 of the FORCE AND DESTINY Core Rule book) out of available materials.

My question is the following. the potions starts on page 81 and on page 82 there is a table and then the potions continue on page 83.
Is it only those on page 81?
or is it supposed all the potions on page 81-83?

ANSWER:
The page reference refers to where the section starts, so we do, in fact, suggest using all of the potions found on page 81-83. We also suggest using other potions, drugs, or poisons from other books if you happen to have them available.

 

Then I have 4 questions about range bands.

for example with Move Force Power.
1.) If you have the 3 range upgrades then you are at extreme range.
But if you activate the range upgrades again, does it then push into the vehicle / planetary range bands??

That’s up to you and your GM. Because range bands can be exponential, it probably makes sense to introduce some sort of cut-off at some point. I would suggest letting the power work at “close” planetary ranges, but probably no further than that (unless it’s an epic and extremely important scene where the fate of the campaign rests on your actions, then maybe the GM can let things go a bit wilder).

2.) Likewise if you use the strength upgrades to throw a silhouette 5 or more at extreme range... can you do that without crushing yourself?

Silhouette 5 is probably not big enough to cover everything from extreme range back to you. It also depends on the shape of the object and its orientation when thrown.

3.) Or would the entire silhouette land at for example extreme range?

Generally, most of it should land at extreme range, but again, when dealing with these more extreme uses of Force powers, there is always room for GM interpretation and license.

 

Rifles

4.) EoTE p. 190 the Marksman Barrel is only allowed on blaster rifles.
Most Blaster rifles seems have long range. And this attachment allows you to increase the range 2 range bands.
one from attachment and one from 1 Innate Talent (Sniper Shot) Mod.

Does that mean that you can shoot into close vehicle / planetary range?

Nope, just to a maximum of extreme range, I’m afraid.


Hope this helps!

 

Sam Gregor-Stewart

RPG Department Manager

 Fantasy Flight Games

 

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Here is an answer I recently got

Rules Question:
With the talent on the Agitator Tree - Incite Rebellion. The coercion difficulty check is set to hard and if successful, a number of beings equal to the characters coercion rank become unhappy. Coercion is just the skill used to determine success and nothing else. The coercion check is not opposed. 1) Who picks these beings? The player or GM? 2) If the player, can a GM restrict specific beings from becoming unhappy with their situation?

Hello Kevin,

The player would typically pick the characters, but the GM can rule that some characters may not be affected (for instance, if it simply doesn’t make any sense as part of the ongoing narrative).

Hope that helps!

Sam Gregor-Stewart

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Hello there,

This is a question in development regarding "Extra reload" and several minor questions answered kindly by Sam Gregor-Stewart, another scholar and gentleman. I'll make some adjustments pasting the answer after each question, for clarity. Thanks again Sam.

Dear FFG team, I hope you're doing great, I have the following questions:

1.- Does the Coronet Arms Dueling (Limited Ammo 1) need an Extra Reload (the 25 credit item)?

Yes, the Dueling Pistol does need the extra ammo reload to use

2.- What happens when you roll a Despair and run out of ammo?

Your GM should spend a Despair on something else, and not have you run out of ammo

3.- Does "Spare Clip" talent, works as an auto-reload?

The Spare Clip talent just lets you ignore an out of ammo result, it does not let you reload a weapon automatically 

4.- Does Blaster Actuating Module and Custom Grip neutralize the set back permanently?

Yes, it does.

5.- Does Pack Instinct from the Togruta (FaD, p. 60) applies to Unskilled assistance, out of structured time? And during combat, if a Togruta use the assist maneuver twice, does he grant 4 boost dice? Thanks for your help!

Yes, they do. And yes, although your GM might rule that one benefit of the Assist maneuver is enough.

 

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Sent this off to the Magic 8 Ball regarding Jawa Silhouette size and got this response:

 

Rules Question:
In Allies & Adversaries Jawas are not shown to be Silhouette 0 yet Ewoks are. Should Jawas be Sil 0?

Answer:

Hi. Jawas should indeed be Silhouette 0; that’s an error in the book both in the NPC and PC areas.

Hope this helps and thanks for playing!

Tim Huckelbery

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
17 hours ago, warchild1x said:

Sent this off to the Magic 8 Ball regarding Jawa Silhouette size and got this response:

 

Rules Question:
In Allies & Adversaries Jawas are not shown to be Silhouette 0 yet Ewoks are. Should Jawas be Sil 0?

Answer:

Hi. Jawas should indeed be Silhouette 0; that’s an error in the book both in the NPC and PC areas.

Hope this helps and thanks for playing!

Tim Huckelbery

Thanks for doing the proverbial legwork! I was wondering about that, myself.

Off to modify the info in OggDude's....

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Posted (edited)

Knights of Fate, Warrior Source book.

Specifically the thunderhead description on pg 42.

Near the end of the description it says something to the point of there being other shells available for purchase. Assuming the thunderhead functions like a standard shotgun of our own current era. the various ammo types would drastically alter the stats of the weapon.

However I cannot seem to find a listing anywhere of what these bullets might do or cost

Initial ideas,

Flechette: gains either pierce or vicious

Gel rounds: damage type becomes stun

Slug: lose blast, increase 1 range band, and pierce of some level.

Edited by Bobbychiken

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
On 5/17/2019 at 4:25 AM, Bobbychiken said:

Knights of Fate, Warrior Source book.

Specifically the thunderhead description on pg 42.

Near the end of the description it says something to the point of there being other shells available for purchase. Assuming the thunderhead functions like a standard shotgun of our own current era. the various ammo types would drastically alter the stats of the weapon.

However I cannot seem to find a listing anywhere of what these bullets might do or cost

Initial ideas,

Flechette: gains either pierce or vicious

Gel rounds: damage type becomes stun

Slug: lose blast, increase 1 range band, and pierce of some level.

Hi,

This thread is for posting answer received from the developers via email, not for asking questions or seeking suggestions. You won't get any official responses here.

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Hi Michael! Some really good questions here:

 

1)  Sure! I think you and your GM can work out necessary checks to add these in. We wanted this book to be all about spy gear and melding it into seemingly regular items. Cufflinks that are secretly garrotes, for example, would be prefect for a real world spy, so I’m sure a SW version should be a thing!

 

2) This could be several skill types. If you’re following a recipe, it could be Coordination. If you’re doing up a new recipe, that should be a Knowledge check—Core, Education, Lore, Outer Rim, even Xenology if it’s for a species alien to you. If you’re doing a performance where the presentation is a big part of the course, then Charm. So lots of options there; Survival would more likely be something in the woods with gathered foods.

 

Hope these help and thanks for playing!

 

Tim Huckelbery

RPG Producer

Fantasy Flight Games

thuckelbery@fantasyflightgames.com

Visit us at http://www.fantasyflightgames.com/

 

 

 

Message from:
Michael J. Tampert


Rules Question:
I have a couple of questions. First, is it alright to install "Gear" attachments, from Cyphers and Masks, such as the Concealed Climbing Cord, Dart Gun, Hidden Compartment, or Retractable Garrote into armor? We see similar attachments in Boba Fett's armor, such as his dart guns in his knee pads, and the like. Second, unrelated question. What skill would you use to be a good cook, as in preparing well made, flavorful meals of different types, be they culturally significant, high end fare, gourmet meals, etc, as opposed to simple sustenance for survival?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


×
×
  • Create New...